R600 spec finally released - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 06:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

If that was the real size, I can see everyone getting a CM Stacker.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 09:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
I really don't think it will be that big once they actually release it
Agreed
__________________

Inferno is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 10:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

isnt it strange how in the article is says the x2900xtx will be released first with 1GB ddr4 and later the x2900xt will be released with 512mb ddr3 memory... that seems backwards to me :/
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

the x2900xt is a lower end version
kinda the same way nvidia came out with the really good cards and later on come out with lower end ones
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 11:09 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
isnt it strange how in the article is says the x2900xtx will be released first with 1GB ddr4 and later the x2900xt will be released with 512mb ddr3 memory... that seems backwards to me :/
I thought the same thing...
Inferno is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 01:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

I don't think, however, that the X2900XT will be a low-end card. Based on current ATI naming schemes, it sounds like a high-end card.

But yeah, it's probably just a slightly under-powered XTX (ie: less and slower RAM) - I'm guessing DDR4 is expensive to make.

PS: that pic a few posts above is insane! I highly doubt the final cards will be that big.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 02:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Apokalipse
I really don't think it will be that big once they actually release it
thats the OEM version of the X2900 XTX
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 06:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

ya the oem is 12 in and the retail is 9in i pretty sure just cant remember the site i found it at
__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 07:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Dang! Pretty soon GPUs are going to need their own external enclosures! That would actually be very practical for very high end systems, because you could buy an external GPU enclosure with room for as many cards as you want, which would be sweet because the R600 supports unlimited clustering with powers of 2.
just to refresh ur mind on how much power the cards consume:

12" OEM consumes 270w

9.6" retail consumes 240w

there is also some other stuff that makes them a little bit differ from each other besides power consumption, i just dont remember.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.