R600 is 250W monster - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default R600 is 250W monster

http://theinq.com/default.aspx?article=34446

The X1950XT currently uses between 125W-145W; now the R600 is set to double that. I hear they're going to offer or include an external power supply. That thing is going to get real hot. Although it looks like ATI might have a winner on their hands. I wouldn't recommend getting the G80 before the R600 comes out.

I just hope 550W is enough to handle that. I'm sure it is, as I know people who run xfire x1900s with 550W.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Well, if you take the 250W out, you have 300W left for your system.

and, OMG!!! That much for a card? Geez! What have they put in there?
__________________

__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

JEEBUS 250W?! What a monster...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I doubt most current 550w PSU will be able to handle that for long.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

That's why most likely they are going to have an external power supply. They are making cards take way too much power. Too worried about seeing how much pixels is can push.

External powersupplies.... looks like some people predictied the future.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Holy ****! Using THAT much power, the ****er had better at least deliver big time performance wise, to say the least!
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 04:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Holy ****! Using THAT much power, the ****er had better at least deliver big time performance wise, to say the least!
If it does not, then I am speechless.
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 04:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

EDIT: NVM

So, heh, the rumors are true.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 10:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I have a pretty strong feeling that if the leaked R600 specs are true (64 pipelines and 64 shaders; the probable cause for the huge power usage) is going to stomp on G80. This of course is just speculation.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yeah, and isn't it susposed to have 512-bit RAM?
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.