Quiet server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 12-19-2011, 06:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Quiet server

Hi

I am looking to buy a server to run Active directory on windows server 2008.
It doesn't need to be very powerful as it will only be managing 10 desktops.

Problem is the only place i can run it is in the office so noise is a huge factor.

Obviously a rack or blade server is out of the question unless i buy storage for it that drastically reduces the noise but i have never done this before, does anybody have any experience in this area?

Are their any servers that run quietly? Like similar to a PC or slightly nosier?

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Old 12-19-2011, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description

Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Quiet server

There are several ways to quiet a system. What type of server are you looking at? You wouldn't need anything powerful, I would think. What's your budget?

Old 12-19-2011, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
El Mágico