quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2009, 11:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Question quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Hi,

I got all my parts, so I am ready to put them together, well in terms of the parts, not that I actually am ready, but I will try

I tried to get an anitstatic wristband but none of the stores I went to had them, so my question is: how do I make sure I don't damage any parts with static electricity?

Am I grounded better with rubber soles or with socks? Do I need to touch the waterpipes every 10 mins or so?

I want to make sure I don't damage anything by doing this wrong.

Lars
__________________

Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

All I do is touch metal, usually part of my case, to discharge any static electricity I may have prior to touching any component.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
All I do is touch metal, usually part of my case, to discharge any static electricity I may have prior to touching any component.
Thank you!

So the PC case will ground me even if it has rubber feet?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

I never ground myself.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

I never really ground myself, usually just go a long doing the normal routine. Sometime during that routine, I'm sure I touch the case, so that grounds me somewhat.
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Santuzzo View Post
Thank you!

So the PC case will ground me even if it has rubber feet?
yes it should just keep your hand on the case while fitting things into the pc :] and your pc should be fine! just make sure the comp isnt turnt on when puting stuff inside it lol
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 03:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Thanks, guys !

I put all the parts together, just touched the radiator of my heating every once in a while, so I guess that was fine.
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
shan1784's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 396
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

I don't usually ground myself other than touching the metal on the case... Along time ago a Dell tech support person told me that to ground yourself effectively you have to have the power cord plugged in to the psu and the wall socket while you touch the metal on the case... Not sure if I believe him..


If you are worried about it you can get one of those wrist straps with the wire and aligator clip that you clip onto the case...
__________________
Rosewill Thor V2 Full Tower - i5 3570K Stock W/ CORSAIR Hydro Series H60
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
Asus Sabertooth Z77 Mother Board - GTX 680 FTW+ w/Backplate 4GB
SAMSUNG 840 Pro 128GB SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD
Asus DVDRW 24x - CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX850 PSU
Samsung P2770FH ToC Rose Black 27" Monitor - Logitech G15 Keyboard
MX518 Mouse - Logitech x540 5.1 Speakers
Turtle Beach HPA2 5.1 Surround Sound Headset - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
shan1784 is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Santuzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 644
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Thanks, the grounding (as mentioned earlier) turend out not to be a problem at all.

I got everything wired but now I'm having a hard time with cable management.
I did run all the cables nicely out of the case in to the side space (chamber between case and side panel, which I think is meant for stowing the cables in), and inside the case it's all nice and neat, but outside it's a mess.
Should I consider taking a few cables back into the case and keep 'em there or would that be bad for the air flow and cooling?
Santuzzo is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 09:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: quick question: how do I ground myself when building the PC

Post up some pics and let up take a look.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a quick question here tmd07 System Upgrades 5 02-20-2008 08:50 PM
Quick Question! Best Graphics card for under £80? Chazzer3 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-09-2008 01:45 AM
Quick Ram Question (Please at least look at) Higach Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-06-2008 02:06 AM
Quick question sailpog New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-11-2007 11:38 PM
Quick question, currently building computer..(Mobo into case) Alexinator New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-31-2007 01:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.