A Quick Question about RAID 0 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2006, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

RAID 0 simply two HDs put together, and recognized as one in your computer. This increases performance because info is gathered from two HDs at the same time, instead of one.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
RAID 0 simply two HDs put together, and recognized as one in your computer. This increases performance because info is gathered from two HDs at the same time, instead of one.
Most important fact: Its not redundant. This is also true for single HD's but people forget that if one Hardrive Dies then you lose all data.

Its recoverable, but costs are high.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Oh yea I forgot that. Thats where RAID 1 comes in.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

And what's RAID 1? =D
SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpannerMagnet
And what's RAID 1? =D
Raid 1 is one copy of the information on each harddrive. So if you have two 150 gig harddrives in raid one, each one will get a copy of the data. Thus, if one dies, you still have all your stuff. One drive is pure backup.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.