A Quick Question about RAID 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2006, 01:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default A Quick Question about RAID 0

I'm interested on RAID 0ing 2 250gb sata drives, but I only have the cash to buy one at the moment. I was wondering, if i went ahead and installed my OS etc on the drive i'm buying first, would I still be able to set it up in RAID with the other drive when I get it, while still keeping everything I have installed? Thanks

~Shando
__________________

Shando is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

No I don't think so, you would have to format and install a fresh copy. Because with RAID 0 it's like interlacing information spread over the two HDs.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 02:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

That's what I was thinking. Thanks for the quick response!
Shando is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You must reformat to set up a RAID 0.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I have a 160 gb IDE drive, and a 15 gb IDE drive, can I run RAID 0? 1 is maxtor, 1 is samsung... How would I install the RAID0 at installation?

Sorry for hijacking thread :P
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You would have to have two of the same size HDs to do RAID 0.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-21-2006, 11:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

they dont have to be the same size, but if one is 15 gb and the other is 150 gb, it scales the 150gb one down to 15gb. so then there's two 15gb drives
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by R1C0CH3T
they dont have to be the same size, but if one is 15 gb and the other is 150 gb, it scales the 150gb one down to 15gb. so then there's two 15gb drives
True. But the total Space for RAID 0 would be 30 GB's: if he was doing RAID 1 with a 15GB and a 150GB then it would be 15GB total storage.
Just further explanation
Ste is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 12:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I have another 15gb HDD, but it's RPM is 5400.. IDE... what can I do with that?
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 01:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

Would someone explain in an easy to swallow way, what RAID 0 is?

Just 2 or 3 lines would do :P
__________________

SpannerMagnet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.