quick question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2005, 05:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default quick question

ok do i have to put thermal paste on the processor before i install the HS/F?? or will it overheat.... and do retail AMD processors come with it?
__________________

GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You dont have to, but its a good idea because the paste helps fill in the gaps between the HS and the chip. This will help the transfer of heat from the chip to the HS hense cooler temps.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

got cha. so how much do you put on?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Default

try about the size of a pea
basspunk1001 is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by basspunk1001
try about the size of a pea
I've never done it before but that sounds like abit much. I've heard to use a grain of rice sized amount.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Read this: http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_s...tions_big2.htm
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 09:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Important Precautions
Don't put it in your mouth. .
haha but it says to put the amount on the AMD64, it doesnt say smooth it? just put the little amound and put the HS/F on top?
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

yes. When you put the heatsink on press it down firmly so the paste spreads out evenly around the center of the cpu, thats where the core is.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

I read that you can spread it all over the CPU & sink, pull them apart, and scrape all the excess off each with a razor blade. This leaves all the "holes" filled, yet allows maximum metal-to-CPU contact.
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

That will introduce air into the paste between the CPU and HSF, best thing to do is either use the stock paste on the HSF it if comes with any or use AS5.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.