Quick Question! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2012, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default Quick Question!

ok im not sure if this is where i post this. if it is not, then i am sorry.

ok so im building a new computer and the MOBO has 2 PCI-X 3.0 slots, but i was going to get a 2.0 card.

i heard it was backwards compatible but i dont know what that means.

do i have to do anything different to the card or does it go in like any other card?

Thanks

~Tehreview
__________________

TehReview is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 09:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 46
Default

It should just slide in like any other
__________________

PorkChopz is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Quick Question!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TehReview View Post
the MOBO has 2 PCI-X 3.0 slots, but i was going to get a 2.0 card.
What mobo/card are we talking about?
__________________
tj_extreme is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Quick Question!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TehReview View Post
i heard it was backwards compatible but i dont know what that means.
do i have to do anything different to the card or does it go in like any other card?
Backwards compatible means that you can use a 2.0 card in a 3.0/2.0/1.0 slot.
They are all the same size (hence the compatibility), they just have different bandwidths.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 01-28-2012, 10:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 12
Default Re: Quick Question!

ok thanks for the help :P

btw this is going to be my very first build like ever so any tips?
TehReview is offline  
Old 01-29-2012, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Quick Question!

Make sure to ground yourself regularly by touching the case so you don't shock any components.
If your case has cable routing holes use them, its not fun having to unplug everything to run them through later when you realize your case is a mess.

If you need guides:
Build a PC - Introduction to Building your PC - PCitYourself.com
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick RAM question and mobo question LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 3 03-05-2010 02:28 PM
quick, quick question talldude123 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 05-20-2006 09:45 PM
Quick Question JFish1801 PC Gaming 3 11-29-2005 03:58 PM
quick question... talldude123 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 10-27-2005 02:59 PM
Quick Question persianxballer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-02-2005 06:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.