Quick psu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Quick psu question

Okay I just got my new hard drive and my Antec Truepower 2.0 550watt power supply from Newegg and I just wanted to test it real quick. So I put it in my case which has nothing but fans in it at the time and I hooked up the fans with the "fans only" plugs from the psu and I plugged in the power supply and my room lights dim down slightly for about a millisecond but nothing turns on no fans spin.

I made sure it was on 115V because im in the US. Can you just run your psu like that without hooking it up to the motherboard or anything. I am going to be ****ed if it is dead, especially because it is Antec
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It will not start up unless its either jumped by connecting the Black and green wire on the 20/24 Pin connector, OR if its attached to a motherboard and you press the power button.

And About the lights dimming: Thats not right and You should probably put the Power supply along with the Moniter on a Surge Protector or a UPS for protection.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Thank you, glad to see I don't have a dead psu (I hope).

I mean the light dimmed very slightly almost unnoticable, I mentioned this so that I know there is a power connection between the psu and the outlet (but I will be useing a surge protector when i get it finished).
Waphlez is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Is the DFI Lanparty motherboards ATX12V v2.0 because I got the EPS12V version of the True Power 2.0 it says its only compatible with SSI/EPS12V and ATX12V v2.0 motherboards.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
Is the DFI Lanparty motherboards ATX12V v2.0 because I got the EPS12V version of the True Power 2.0 it says its only compatible with SSI/EPS12V and ATX12V v2.0 motherboards.
The DFI lanparty (excluding the expert) have a 4-pin connector and I think the one that comes with the EPS powersupply is 8-pin
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by weringo
The DFI lanparty (excluding the expert) have a 4-pin connector and I think the one that comes with the EPS powersupply is 8-pin
No it's 24 pin. It says on a tag connected on the plug.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

I might be getting confused here but isnt there a four pin plug for non EPS boards and 8 pin for EPS as well as the ATX connector?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Antec EPS12V power supplies have both 4 pin and 8 pin connectors. There is an 8 pin connector which breaks into two 4 pin connectors.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.