Quick PSU Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2008, 01:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Default Quick PSU Question...

How many watts do i need for 8800GT running SLI?
__________________

ilim4t1c is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quick PSU Question...

Wattage doesn't matter.. but you could do it on a PC Power and Cooling 750w for $120 or Corsair 650tx for $90

And both are still slightly overkill, most quality 550w PSU's from reputable brands can do it
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Quick PSU Question...

Thanks a lot man. For the quick response and recommendations, you saved me a lot of time <3.
ilim4t1c is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Quick PSU Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilim4t1c View Post
How many watts do i need for 8800GT running SLI?
For a single core and SLI 8800GT's with everything overclocked 40A on the 12V is more than enough.

For a quad-core 40A is probably still enough but depending on how many optical drives and HDD's you have 43-45A would be a better bet to give you upgrade and headroom.

the 550VX from Corsair will be plenty enough and is a very good choice for your system.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU comparison question. manowar New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-03-2008 12:42 PM
Stupid PSU question Mr. LL New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-27-2007 12:20 AM
Quick Question...RAM SYL\X/3K New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2007 06:39 AM
Quick power supply question... Drewser System Upgrades 6 10-12-2007 01:31 AM
Quick case question sailpog System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 12:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.