Questionz! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2008, 02:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Questionz!

1. How much power would be sufficient for a stock Q9300 and a factory OC Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 with 3 gb of ram on an EVGA 780i motherboard?

2. Does it have to be an ATi or Nvidia chipset to support Sli/crossfire for an intel based setup?

3. Is it possible to switch between onboard graphics controller and discrete graphics ? (switch to discrete while gaming only)

4. Does ATI offer any motherboards with onboard graphics for intel processors?

5. Best (durable/stable) high-end graphics board that wont run too hot while gaming on a stock intel cpu and an OC ati 3870/nvidia 9600gt?

6. Whats the difference between the GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L and the GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R?

I'll keep adding more questions with time :happy:
__________________

blue-lynx is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 03:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Questionz!

1. Nothing drastic. I'd suggest the corsair 520hx
2. Ati = crossfire = x38 or p35. Nvidia = SLI = 680/780i. You can sli with amd or intel chips, just have to pick the right motherboard. 680i/780i use intel chips, and i think the 590i is amd. Same idea with crossfire but i dont know any amd socket boards for an example. gigabyte ds4/dq6 and asus maximus formula are intel.
3. Dunno, someone mentioned about that becoming somethign in the future. Like speedstep for GPU's. Don't know about it now. Someone else will have to answer.
4. Dunno?
5 motherboard? i'd suggest an x38 board if you never plan to sli. gigabyte's dq6 or ds4 are good. or the popular asus maximus. great overclockers. if you think you might sli with nvidia cards i'd suggest a good 780i. supposedly good oc'ers too.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 05:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Questionz!

1. Above should work

2. Yep, Akubane is right.

3. No.

4. Not anymore. There are still some out there, but Intel has shut ATI(AMD) out right now.

5. Gigabyte's DS3 lines are very popular around here. Rock solid.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 07:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Questionz!

Akubane + Trotter's answers seem to be right, except Akubane forgot 750i FTW, and 590i is Intel, and they were crap OC'ers, the normal 590 is AMD, but they don't support Phenom

get the 750i FTW if you want to get a 9600gt for future expansion
get the x38 boards (any of them are considerable Maximus, P5e; any of them) for future expansion with the HD3870
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 10:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Questionz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Akubane + Trotter's answers seem to be right, except Akubane forgot 750i FTW, and 590i is Intel, and they were crap OC'ers, the normal 590 is AMD, but they don't support Phenom

get the 750i FTW if you want to get a 9600gt for future expansion
get the x38 boards (any of them are considerable Maximus, P5e; any of them) for future expansion with the HD3870

Whats your view on the 780i by EVGA?
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 10:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Questionz!

It's a good board. Used it myself. Overclocked my processor easily enough and actually did a better job of it than my previous x38 board as far as overclocking the Q6600. I used the 9600GT with it and it was getting max settings on all games at 1440x900 resolution (all but crysis, which still played at all high settings with 1280x768 resolution).
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Questionz!

say, if I plan on running a stock q9300 on the 780i with only one factory OC 9600 gt, would the motherboard run really hot?
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Questionz!

Shouldnt.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
blue-lynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GTA - Greater Toronto Area
Posts: 112
Default Re: Questionz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Shouldnt.
on a second thought.. would the 780i run 3870 easily?
blue-lynx is offline  
Old 04-25-2008, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Questionz!

The chipset will have no bearing on running a single card. An Nvidia chipset can run an ATI card with no problems (I am running one, I should know), and an ATI chipset can run an Nvidia card. The only thing the chipset will matter is if you want to run two cards, and then the chipset will only work for one or the other.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.