Questions regarding setting up SATA 3.0 4X via RAID 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2010, 04:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Questions regarding setting up SATA 3.0 4X via RAID 0

Ok, after chatting with Mak, I have decided to wait awhile longer [3-12 months] before purchasing some Intel SSD's. I would like larger capacity Intel SSD's at lower prices [I suppose everyone feels this way]?

Anyhow, tonight when I was breaking open my brand new Gigabyte P55A-UD3 I noticed on the front of the box this statement: "SATA 3, 4x Speed via RAID 0".

I have done a fair amount of reading on RAID set ups, and to be 100% honest with you, I found it very challenging to understand...[striping, mirroring, what stripe size should I use, etc.].

What did catch my attention was benchmarks and corresponding statements like this:

"The hard disk system burst read transfer rate increased between 49.17% and 57.39% when we used RAID0 configuration instead of a single disk configuration." I found benchmarks and the preceding statement here:
Does RAID0 Really Increase Disk Performance? | Hardware Secrets

"The hard disk system average transfer rate increased between 93.76% and 101.36% when we used a RAID0 configuration instead of a single disk configuration – in other words, RAID0 doubled the hard disk drive system average speed!"

Needless to say, those stats are very impressive to me...

I have never run anything in any of the RAID options ever before....so, here are my questions:

1. Will I really receive HD performance that is 4 times faster if I use RAID 0 with a MB that supports SATA3?
2. Must I use two of the exact same HD's. Must these HD's that are to be run in RAID 0 have SATA 3 capabilities? [UPDATE: Ok, after reading much more tonight, I now realize both drives must be identical and must support SATA 3. Can anyone here suggest two HD's that support these requirements and are a good deal at the moment]?
3. Is it difficult to set up RAID 0? Is maintenance difficult on a RAID 0 set up?
4. Would you set my system up with SATA 3 via RAID 0 if you had this option? If yes, why?

Ok, I have come here because I know most of you guys are light years ahead of me in many different areas of computer components, software, OS, etc.

Can someone here help me in this area?

Here are the components I have acquired so far:

Intel i5-750
Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3
Western Digital 640 GB Black edition
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) F3-12800CL7D
Enermax Infiniti Ein720AWT 720W Modular PSU
Cool Master Sniper Black Edition
Galaxy 250 GTS
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series CWCH50
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


Thank you,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 09:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Questions regarding setting up SATA 3.0 4X via RAID 0

I don't know anything about your motherboard but for normal RAID (independent of proprietary enhancements)

1) the SATA speed is always a lot faster than the transfer speed of the disk so as long as you only have one disk on the cable, it won't matter if it is SATA1,2 or 3. It may be roughly 4 times faster than a single disk because you have 4 of them.

2) Just to implement RAID they don't even need to be the same capacity let alone the same model but it is good advise to try. RAID predates SATA by ages so yes RAID can be done with IDE, SCSI or anything else really but the disk interface must obviously match the controller interface.

3) no

4) no, a 4 disk RAID 0 is asking for trouble - if one disk fails you will loose all your data.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Questions regarding setting up SATA 3.0 4X via RAID 0

Think of Raid0 as a Relay Racing Team and the standard drive as your competitor in a race. And the race length is determined by the file length. And the motherboard controller is the Baton Switch. In really short races your not going to see much of a difference and a single drive may even be faster occasionally. But as the races start getting longer and longer the difference starts to become more and more noticeable. And as you start to add more racers to your Relay/Raid0 Team your expanding your capabilities.

Depending on your uses the benefits of Raid0 vary and the efficiency is in a simular proportion. And while it is true that if one of your drives fail in a Raid0 configuration you lose all of your Data. The same thing is true wiith a single drive, if it fails you lose all of your data. Either way you lose all of your data and a drive, it's not like all of your Raid drives have to be replaced.

Edit: I ran a Raid0 Array for years with no more problems than a single drive setup. But with SSD's available I will probably never bother with Raid ever again. My OCZ Agility isn't the fastest SSD but I got more disk space for my money and it's still way faster than any Raid0 Array I've ever had.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Questions regarding setting up SATA 3.0 4X via RAID 0

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
I don't know anything about your motherboard but for normal RAID (independent of proprietary enhancements)

1) the SATA speed is always a lot faster than the transfer speed of the disk so as long as you only have one disk on the cable, it won't matter if it is SATA1,2 or 3. It may be roughly 4 times faster than a single disk because you have 4 of them.

2) Just to implement RAID they don't even need to be the same capacity let alone the same model but it is good advise to try. RAID predates SATA by ages so yes RAID can be done with IDE, SCSI or anything else really but the disk interface must obviously match the controller interface.

3) no

4) no, a 4 disk RAID 0 is asking for trouble - if one disk fails you will loose all your data.
Kmote,

Ok, thanks for your insights and now I think it is best not to do the RAID 0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Think of Raid0 as a Relay Racing Team and the standard drive as your competitor in a race. And the race length is determined by the file length. And the motherboard controller is the Baton Switch. In really short races your not going to see much of a difference and a single drive may even be faster occasionally. But as the races start getting longer and longer the difference starts to become more and more noticeable. And as you start to add more racers to your Relay/Raid0 Team your expanding your capabilities.

Depending on your uses the benefits of Raid0 vary and the efficiency is in a simular proportion. And while it is true that if one of your drives fail in a Raid0 configuration you lose all of your Data. The same thing is true wiith a single drive, if it fails you lose all of your data. Either way you lose all of your data and a drive, it's not like all of your Raid drives have to be replaced.

Edit: I ran a Raid0 Array for years with no more problems than a single drive setup. But with SSD's available I will probably never bother with Raid ever again. My OCZ Agility isn't the fastest SSD but I got more disk space for my money and it's still way faster than any Raid0 Array I've ever had.
Slay,

Thanks for helping me to understand this more clearly. Yes, those ssd's are incredible...and I really would like to have one, but I will wait until the prices of the Intel 80gb's drop in price.

After reading all this info, I have come to the conclusion that setting up RAID 0 on my new system probably just isn't worth the time and effort.

Thanks for helping see that.

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$2500-$3000 Computer, Where To Buy From/Parts Recomendations I DONT WANNA BUILD BarelyBen New Systems | Building and Buying 9 10-02-2009 02:04 PM
Need help with setting up a RAID array TerraformScott New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-04-2008 04:45 PM
Setting Up Windows XP With RAID tedmp0816 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 05-09-2008 10:03 AM
Problem with booting from SATA Raid array Big Gay Al1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-22-2008 01:12 PM
Setting SATA DVD drive to primary drive? thejeremy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-03-2008 02:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.