Questions about the 680i mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2007, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Questions about the 680i mobo

Hello,

I'm putting together a parts list for a new computer that I plan to buy soon and I was considering the 680i motherboard, but a couple of things I read on Newegg worried me. For example, one reviewer said that he had to manually set up the LAN ports. Is that true for all 680i's? Is it hard to do?

Also with its 3 PCIe ports, is there any particular one that you're supposed to put the graphics card in if you're not going to be doing SLi? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Don't consider the 680i motherboard, when there are newer chipsets, such as the P35. The P35 supports a native 1333FSB, and the upcoming 45nm processors. Where as the 680i, you would have to update the BIOS in order to get the support. The P35 chipset is cheaper as well.

To answer your question about the PCIe slots. If a motherboard has multiple PCIe slots, you put the graphic card, in the top most slot, closest to the northbridge chipset, or the CPU.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

question

do you plan to run SLI or not?

if not then get a P35 board, if so then get a 680i. i recommend EVGA they offer a lifetime warranty and top notch customer service.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Get a Gigabyte P35 DS3R board. If a board has multiple PCI-E slots, I'd choose the slot that is closer to the northbridge because I'm weird and I like to shave off those milliseconds.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Get a Gigabyte P35 DS3R board. If a board has multiple PCI-E slots, I'd choose the slot that is closer to the northbridge because I'm weird and I like to shave off those milliseconds.
That's not being weird Peter. I would just get the P35-DS3R. There isn't much of a performance increase with SLi.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Im using this board and quite happy with its performance . I believe there is a new chipset for the newer boards. Dont get anything below a T1 revision.
Definately see how the P35 boards are doing , do some homework on it before you buy.
Sli is king but darn expensive AnandTech: NVIDIA SLI Performance Preview with MSI's nForce4 SLI Motherboard
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
That's not being weird Peter. I would just get the P35-DS3R. There isn't much of a performance increase with SLi.
SLI gives more than you think. it will double the FPS with the higher end cards
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
SLI gives more than you think. it will double the FPS with the higher end cards
still, in most experts opinion....not worth the money unless your loaded
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
still, in most experts opinion....not worth the money unless your loaded
I plan on becomubg Über rich, some day, and buying dual G92's and the 900 dollar cpu cooler.

Go w/ the DS3R, unless your ding SLI.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Questions about the 680i mobo

900 dollar cpu cooler?
u mean liquid nitrogen?
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.