Questions! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 04:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Questions!

I'll get right down to it, here are some questions I have about my new build:

1) Do I need to wait a certain time for the thermal paste to take effect before I start overclocking my CPU? If so, about how long?

2) What are INF files (from my mobo drivers)? Do I really need them?

3) I installed my audio drivers from my mobo CD and I still have no audio coming out of the mobo sound connections...any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Questions!

1) The thermal paste does need to cure, but you can just start overclocking right away.

2) The INF files are driver files, probably from your mobo cd. It's best to the get the latest driver off the internet for the northbridge, and other controllers.

3)You need to install all the drivers from the website. E.g. you need chipset drivers to get the sound to work.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Questions!

Hmm looks like you are using more or less the same rig as i am. If you run the cd that came with the mobo it will install the sound drivers, after that you need to go into the little red speaker thing in the system tray and set up your speakers. By default it is set at a 2 speaker set up.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 46
Default Re: Questions!

So (since I'll be at this point soon myself) how would one get to the internet to download the latest drivers without loading the drivers on the disk? Should you load the drivers on the disk, then go straight to the net to get the latest drivers? Or can you boot and get to the net without loading any of the drivers from the enclosed disk?

Sorry, don't mean to highjack...
Portland Newb is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Questions!

which audio driver do i need to download? this is from the gigabyte website:

Realtek Function driver for Realtek Azalia audio chip (Including Microsoft UAA Driver in English edition)
O.S. : Windows 2000,Windows XP,Windows XP 64Bit,Windows Server 2003 32bit,Windows Server 2003 64bit,Windows Vista x86 (32-bit),Windows Vista x64 (64-bit) R1.72 30.36 MB


Microsoft UAA (Universal Audio Architecture) Bus driver (Full Multi-language version )
O.S. : Windows 2000,Windows XP,Windows Server 2003 5.10.0.5010 29.87 MB

or both?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Questions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Portland Newb View Post
So (since I'll be at this point soon myself) how would one get to the internet to download the latest drivers without loading the drivers on the disk? Should you load the drivers on the disk, then go straight to the net to get the latest drivers? Or can you boot and get to the net without loading any of the drivers from the enclosed disk?

Sorry, don't mean to highjack...
i installed the ethernet drivers from the CD that came with the mobo, or if you REALLY want the latest drivers download them onto a thumb drive from another comp, then install them.
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Questions!

The top one, as it includes the Microsoft drivers =D
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Questions!

k thanks, ill let ya know how it goes, also, do i NEED the INF files? or....what exactly do they do? will they make the system run smoother?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Questions!

The p35-ds3r isnt that old, i cant imagine the drivers on the cd are more than 1 update out. Just run everything from the cd first. I havent had any issues with the drivers on the disk.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Questions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
The p35-ds3r isnt that old, i cant imagine the drivers on the cd are more than 1 update out. Just run everything from the cd first. I havent had any issues with the drivers on the disk.
That works too
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two questions before pulling the trigger... Portland Newb New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-16-2007 01:07 PM
2 questions; is eSATA better than Firewire, what are artifacts/screen corruption? Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 10:37 AM
A few questions on my new build [SF]MKM New Systems | Building and Buying 51 06-24-2007 05:43 PM
Newbie w/ Graphics Questions Grizzlyb34r New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-09-2007 08:45 AM
Several questions about CPUs/overheating Nekriss421 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-30-2007 06:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.