Question for Upgrading XPS 400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2007, 11:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Question for Upgrading XPS 400

Hey everyone. This is my first post so please bare with me as I'm knew here

I am currently in the process of upgrading my XPS 400. I just ordered a 8800 GeForce overstocked 320mb graphics card, which at first I didn't know if I would need to upgrade my power supply unit, but from reading some forums, I found out I wouldn't need to. So I'm looking forward to having the weekend to seeing the advantages of that.

I currently have 1 gig memory on my system, which I'm looking to upgrade that this coming week. I was just wondering with that, should I go ahead and get 2 gigs, 3 gigs or max the system out with 4 gigs? I run XP Professional which can handle up to 4 gigs of memory. As of right now, I can't decide whether to go with just the one gig upgrade or go with the 2 gig (total of 3 gig). Will there big a big noticeable difference between 2 and 3 gig?

I might add that my primary purpose on this system is video editing and my second purpose is gaming.

I appreciate the help!
__________________

Medium Lammy is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

Since you're video editing, the extra ram will help alot. For gaming you would only need 2gb of ram. So I guess 4gb of ram will suite you. It looks like you're cutting it close, with that PSU, to power your system. Are you sure it has enough amps?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

I was worried about this not being enough power as well.

However, after reviewing Dells forums as well as reading reviews on (newegg, which specifically someone with a 400 said it works great) I decided to go with it. Apparently Dell underrates their PSU's so they can actually handle more then what they say they can.

The biggest problem I've read with folks who have this card with the 400 is the fact people have a hard time fitting it into their system since it takes up two levels.

I'm just excited to get this card and then get the ram so I can be on my way.

Any other advise on upgrades?
Medium Lammy is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

I was just wondering, what kind of power systems would all fit my xps 400?
Medium Lammy is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

Highly doubt that you would really be able to...an 8800 card CAN run on one but thats barebone...the P4's take more watts than a C2D as well.

Honestly I wouldn't trust a system like that top a low-watt Dell PSU.

Dell uses proprietary PSU's (weird shapes) on average so I have no clue what would just fit in your case.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

I believe pc power cooling makes a model that will fit dells
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 06:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

You suppose if I went to say a Best Buy they would be able to tell me what PSU would fit my system?
Medium Lammy is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 08:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

Possibly, however the PSU may be quite a lot of money if it's one that was designed to just fit dells. XPS's may be a little different from the standard Dimensions as well but probably not.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

lol, best buy. Good luck getting help for something like that from them. "uuh ya dude, ummmmhhh sure. How about that one??" Thats about all I was able to get out of them with my questions.

I wouldn't trust that power supply with a 8800gts.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 11:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Question for Upgrading XPS 400

If the current PSU won't be able to handle it....can any damage be done to the rest of the computer of the video card? Or will it just not work?

I read on the dell board from other users who said that this card does work and I also read, I believe on the newegg.com reviews that this card worked great with the XPS 400.
__________________

Medium Lammy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Question about Torrent files KingAustin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-15-2007 11:58 PM
New Firefox Question jason74 Internet Software and Browsers 2 04-10-2007 10:09 PM
Samsung LCD TV Question wirercx Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-02-2007 07:36 AM
a question I should know the answer to but don't plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-30-2007 09:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.