Question(s) about Crossfire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 02:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default Question(s) about Crossfire

I am going to upgrade my computer soon (probably this month), and I got a question about Crossfire:
Like this:

1.Get a Crossfire Ready Motherboard
2.Get a X1800 (Crossfire Ready) (example)
3.Get a X1800 Crossfire Edition (Is this one optional? Can I wait getting this one untill I can afford it? Or do I have to get both a Crossfire Ready and a Crossfire Edition at the same time to make anything work at all?)

Thank You
__________________

Luciphear is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

u dont have to use crossfire, you can start with just one card and get one later
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

So I can use the Crossfire Ready video card and the Crossfire Ready motherboard only? (And wait getting the Crossfire Edition video card, and it will still work?)
Luciphear is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 04:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default

get a crossfire ready motherboard, get an ordinary ATI Videocard BUT! it gotta have an ATI Crossfire Ready clone/brother.

like mine i have a crossfire ready motherboard and an ordinary Radeon X1800 Series 256mb video card then i can get Radeon X1800 CrossFire Edition later and can use them together later for crossfire.

Look here
http://www.ati.com/technology/crossfire/howitworks.html
rhkenji is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 04:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rhkenji
like mine i have a crossfire ready motherboard and an ordinary Radeon X1800 Series 256mb video card then i can get Radeon X1800 CrossFire Edition later and can use them together later for crossfire.
Does that mean you are currently using a X1800 Crossfire card with a Crossfire Ready motherboard? (Without a crossfire edition video card)
Luciphear is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 10:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You might want to consider the X1900 instead.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.