A Question Regarding TV Tuners - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2007, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Default A Question Regarding TV Tuners

I am going back to college in about a month and with my new rig and 22" display, I've decided not to take my television back with me. Instead, I'd rather get a TV tuner and watch television on my PC. I don't really know much about tuners so here is my question:

What is the best tuner to get and is there anything I should know before I get one?
__________________

Freebirth is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

if you want HDTV (and you should) you should get the Kworld 115 pci hdtv tuner. if your college has cable in the dorms you'll be able to set up clear qam which is unencrypted hdtv through cable, or you can buy a cheapo hdtv antenna and set that up if you live near a city or some broadcasting towers.

of course, it also tunes the regular cable and antenna channels. its pretty sweet, i use it with my htpc setup at school.
__________________

fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

Yeah, my dorm has cable hookup. I'll check that tuner out then.
Freebirth is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

if I pay for digital cable would that card work like the tuner boxes you get from your cable company?
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

im not sure. i'd be able to let you know in late september when i go back to school

if my understand is correct however, it ought to work. but if you pay for digital cable, dont you get a box anyway?
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

The box is a decrypted to access the digital content. If you run off a coax cable, then you only get regular channels. You can though use the box as a converter and the input card are a receiver.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 09:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 268
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

that sounds right. it makes good sense. is there a way to split the hdmi from the set top box? (and be able to tune two different channels?) my guess is no
fastrandstrongr is offline  
Old 07-26-2007, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: A Question Regarding TV Tuners

i think its possible cus a friend of mine did something similar.....but then again im not sure if he just had two coaxial outlets right next to each other on the wall....but if i remeber correctly, he split it..and watched two diffrent channels at the same time but only one of them had all the channels, the other had only the basic
__________________

lamakila123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
Question using RadioButton in VB.Net punkin Programming 4 07-08-2007 11:20 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.