Question regarding the transferring of VHS tapes to digital files for storage? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login

Old 05-06-2014, 10:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Question regarding the transferring of VHS tapes to digital files for storage?

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum! I'm an intern for a non-profit organization and I have a project I'm working on that I was hoping someone could steer me in the right direction with!

I have roughly 100 or so VHS tapes from the past 30 years of the organization (all the tapes are in decent condition and still work) and we are trying to transfer the VHS tapes to digital files to document/store them as the VHS tapes are part of the program's legacy which is why the organization wants them stored safely and affordably in case the VHS tapes go bad with age. We've already tried storing them on a external hard drive but the hard drive died on us and we've since figured out that this might not be the most feasible way to do this since those hard drives dont have a long life span and we dont want to continue to have to transfer the files each time it dies. Looking for a more permanent solution if you know what I mean!

My best suggestion was to upload them to the "Cloud" or something similar but the issue with that is obviously that the conversion of VHS to digital makes these absolutely huge files and therefore would be a huge cost (something that a nonprofit cant really afford to do). Also like I said, the files are gonna be huge which is another reason transferring them to an external hard drive is difficult.

Any and all suggestions would be most helpful!!! Thanks!

NonProfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru

Default Re: Question regarding the transferring of VHS tapes to digital files for storage?