Question regarding FX-7x processors - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2007, 05:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Alright:

Lets look at something here. Your talking about Quad Core CPU's Right?

Can you name three Programs or games (With Links) that are for the Home user that fully takes advantage of Dual Core Processors? Can you even NAME ONE Program or Game RIGHT NOW that fully takes advantage of Quad Core CPU's?

No, you can't. Why? Because hardware advances far faster than software can take advantage of it. The point is, theres no reason to be buying Quad core CPU's now. There are hardly (If any) applications that use all four Cores. And don't give me that"Longevity" arguement. It is far smarter to Build for software and applications now, save your money and build a new computer when the software you need to use takes advantage of the hardware out there.

Since your heading that way anyways, Ill help ya out. Go with a 6400 or a 6600, get good RAM, Motherboard, heatsink, power supply and Cooling. And Overclock it. The C2D's out now will last a long time. Especially since many applications and programs don't fully take advantage of dual core CPU's.

Just tell us your budget and what programs you want to run. I garuntee that we will provide a well built list.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 05:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Re: Question regarding FX-7x processors

Quote:
Originally posted by Phrantic
Err... slow down?
Slow down? People say that when I talk fast. How do you want me to slow down on here?
__________________

Blitersety is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Alright:

Lets look at something here. Your talking about Quad Core CPU's Right?

Can you name three Programs or games (With Links) that are for the Home user that fully takes advantage of Dual Core Processors? Can you even NAME ONE Program or Game RIGHT NOW that fully takes advantage of Quad Core CPU's?

No, you can't. Why? Because hardware advances far faster than software can take advantage of it. The point is, theres no reason to be buying Quad core CPU's now. There are hardly (If any) applications that use all four Cores. And don't give me that"Longevity" arguement. It is far smarter to Build for software and applications now, save your money and build a new computer when the software you need to use takes advantage of the hardware out there.

Since your heading that way anyways, Ill help ya out. Go with a 6400 or a 6600, get good RAM, Motherboard, heatsink, power supply and Cooling. And Overclock it. The C2D's out now will last a long time. Especially since many applications and programs don't fully take advantage of dual core CPU's.

Just tell us your budget and what programs you want to run.
Thanks for your response, I really appreciate the help. I'm sorry but I can't honestly say I have a list of programs that would benefit from quad core right now, besides something like multimedia editing or encoding. The reason I wanted to go quad core is because I heard that Valve (the developer behind Half-Life and Steam, etc.) said gamers won't really notice a great performance increase until quad (edit) core. Stardock, the developer behind GalCiv2 has also said that.

But, yes, I have decided on a dual-core Core 2 Duo chip now because of the respones I've been given on this thread.

My current budget is 1,500.00 - 1,800.00 for a gaming computer to run Vista Ultimate, with a TV Tuner and not including the monitor. If anyone could recommend any companies they trust for any of the hardware or even a suggested spec list, that would be a huge help to me, because I plan to build this myself rather than buy from someone like Dell or iBuyPower. Also I would like the computer to have lost of room for upgrading in the future to SLI or a Dual-core setup.

Also would it be worth just sticking with Vista Home Premium instead of Ultimate? Thanks in advance.
Blitersety is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

E6600 (Artic Silver 5/Scythe Ninja/120MM Delta)
eVGA 680i
8800GTX
2 GB's (1x1GB) DDR2 800 Dominator
Audigy 2 ZS Or Blue gears 7.1 Mystique (Sound card)
Corsair 620 Power supply
74 GB Raptor
320 GB 16MB SATA Seagate Drive
Optorite (Or samsung) DVD Drive
sceptre 19" or 20.1 Inch Widesreen
Some large Case (Antec, silverstone, tt)
Ste is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i say e6400 and a p5b or ds3 mobo (stay away from 680i chipset unless you go with e6700).
everyone else can help you with your other components. with the right parts that cpu and mobo will last a long time.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
i say e6400 and a p5b or ds3 mobo (stay away from 680i chipset unless you go with e6700).
Link.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=140111
this is where we discussed it briefly on the forums.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/chi...80i-sli_7.html
this is one article that i have read, there are many more if you google it.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I just named one board I knew of. Here the rest I know without refering to Links.
Gigabyte DS3 Sli
ASUS P5B
ASUS P5B E
eVGA 680i
Ste is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 07:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

yeah, according to that article (and others) there is also a hinderance with the ram speed when you try to overclock it.
which kinda sucks for such a great board.
it is a REALLY good mobo for the high end c2d's apparently, but keeps the low end cpu's from realizing their full potential. kind of ironic...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Alright:

Lets look at something here. Your talking about Quad Core CPU's Right?

Can you name three Programs or games (With Links) that are for the Home user that fully takes advantage of Dual Core Processors? Can you even NAME ONE Program or Game RIGHT NOW that fully takes advantage of Quad Core CPU's?

No, you can't. Why? Because hardware advances far faster than software can take advantage of it. The point is, theres no reason to be buying Quad core CPU's now. There are hardly (If any) applications that use all four Cores. And don't give me that"Longevity" arguement. It is far smarter to Build for software and applications now, save your money and build a new computer when the software you need to use takes advantage of the hardware out there.

Since your heading that way anyways, Ill help ya out. Go with a 6400 or a 6600, get good RAM, Motherboard, heatsink, power supply and Cooling. And Overclock it. The C2D's out now will last a long time. Especially since many applications and programs don't fully take advantage of dual core CPU's.

Just tell us your budget and what programs you want to run. I garuntee that we will provide a well built list.

Call of Futy 2 with the new patch takes advantage of dual core as for 3 apps. i cant think of any which sucks. but with new games that will change.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.