Question regarding Custom Build. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2006, 11:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 236

he lower teh qualitie of teh file he would need a good vga like a 7950 gw2
I think he means a 7950GX2, and for the love of god don't buy it, if you want to shell out on a VGA card, get an Nvidia Quadro (is that what they're called?) as they are tuned for editing, whereas the GX2 is more suited to gaming (and is a waste of money with DX10 so soon around the corner).


Main Rig
/// Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 at 3.8 ghz /// 512MB Nvidia 7900GT Gainward Golden Sample \'Goes Like **** Edition\' /// OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series /// Intel Extreme D975bx-304 975X Mobo /// 2x Western Digital Raptor X 150GB in RAID 0 /// OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply ///
Light Rig : /// Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 /// Intel DP965LT 965 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard /// Corsair 2GB DDR2 Value Select PC5300 /// Sapphire ATI Radeon X1900 GT 256MB ///
LU4sTrooper is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 04:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 223

Would 512 mb graphics card be a no-brainer, or is a solid 256mb card sufficient?

i5 3570k (OC to 4.2 mhz)
Geforce 650 Ti Boost 2gb
Windows 7
Da11en47 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51

Tell him to buy an iMac.

M3Cosmos is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

Windows supports 3.85gb's of ram not 3.
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Member (again)
macdude425's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425

Originally posted by Amd gt player
4 gigs is max for linux and the mac os
Try 2TB physical for OS X, 1.5GB physical for OS 8/9, and god only knows how much in Linux. IIRC there are extensions that can overcome the memory barrier in Linux with a little handiwork.


Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.