Question Regarding CAS Latency - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2013, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India
Posts: 2
Default Question Regarding CAS Latency

HI Guys,

I bought a Asus S400CA laptop recently. The laptop seems to has an integrated DDR3 4GB 1600Mhz ram with CAS 11 11 11 28 as per CPU Z. It seems there is one more slot for RAM module in the laptop. I am planning to upgrade with another 4 GB.

Unfortunately the only options that I have is

Transcend JetRam DDR3 4 GB 1600 Mhz CAS 5-6-7-8-9-10-11

and

G.Skill DDR3 4 GB Laptop RAM 1600 Mhz CAS 11-11-11-28

Which one among these is compatible and a better choice?

Thanks,
Reghu
__________________

Reghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Question Regarding CAS Latency

The G.Skill. It matches the timings of your current and is a better company to deal with.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India
Posts: 2
Default Re: Question Regarding CAS Latency

What about 9-9-9-28 CAS Latency from another Gskill ram. I believe lesser latency is better for performance.Please correct me if I am wrong?

Also Transcend seems to have lesser CAS Latency?
Reghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Question Regarding CAS Latency

Tighter timings (lower latency numbers) do produce better performance numbers, but you wont tell the difference in anything. Also, your current onboard RAM has 11 timings so you can't exactly change that. Meaning anything else you put in there will default to the looser timings of your current onboard module.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.