Question regarding 40-pin IDE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2012, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: U.S.
Posts: 3
Default Question regarding 40-pin IDE

Hey guys, first post on here :]

I'm about to receive my part in the mail for my first computer build. It's going to have a 120GB solid state as well as a 2TB 7200RPM Seagate Barracuda. I pulled the hard drive out of my VERY old computer (Western Digital WD2500JB). The drive has a 40 pin IDE connector and a 10-pin jumper block. I want to also use this hard drive in my new build.

My question is:
1.) Should I buy a 40pin IDE to SATA adapter?
2.) Should I change the jumper block position to the 'slave' configuration?
3.) How should I go about integrating this drive into my new build?
~~~Basically, how is it that I can get this drive to function in my new build without interfering with the 2TB drive and the solid state?

Thanks all,
Juan.
__________________

JuanMarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

First off what are the specs of the new build. This will help decide how to integrate the old into the new.
__________________

bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 10:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: U.S.
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 - Board

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7850 OC 2GB 256-bit - Graphics

AMD FX-4300 Vishera 3.8GHz (4.0GHz) - Processor

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) - Memory

Kingston 120GB SSD

Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200 RPM
JuanMarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

Um, with an SSD and a 2TB drive why exactly do you need this dinosaur in your machine?

Just get one of these:
Newegg.com - Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Keep your drive set to master and it'll work fine with the other two. SATA doesn't have a master or slave system so it doesn't matter what you have it set to as it's only one channel anyways per drive.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: U.S.
Posts: 3
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Um, with an SSD and a 2TB drive why exactly do you need this dinosaur in your machine?

Just get one of these:
Newegg.com - Vantec IDE to SATA Converter - Model CB-IS100

Keep your drive set to master and it'll work fine with the other two. SATA doesn't have a master or slave system so it doesn't matter what you have it set to as it's only one channel anyways per drive.

I don't. xD
But I have it, so I figured why not?
JuanMarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

I wouldn't waste time and money, but to each his own.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Question regarding 40-pin IDE

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMarch View Post
I don't. xD
But I have it, so I figured why not?
Given that the drive is IDE, it's showing its age. Anything you store on that drive, I would made sure it is backed up on one of the other drives also. Never know when that will kick the bucket. I have lost MORE than my fair share of data on ancient IDE drives. But, that was back when 20 Gig was about the biggest drive you could buy. hahahah.

For what it is worth, I have one of these, which is considerably more expensive than the connector you are looking at. This allows you to access SATA or IDE drives for desktop or laptop, and is great for getting data off of those old drives before they get tossed...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817707192
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hhd, ide, jumper block, sata, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about 8-pin vs. 4-pin 12V rails iFargle System Upgrades 4 10-23-2010 11:24 PM
ATX 12V 20 pin to 24 pin question ThomasWest System Upgrades 6 03-12-2006 10:27 PM
Pin Question with parts Talis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-07-2005 08:26 AM
IDE Pin help Heineken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-26-2005 04:12 PM
What to do if the pin on the IDE connector is bent or missing? dario03 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-17-2005 09:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.