Question about the X58 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2009, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Question about the X58

I was wondering for people that have this board or know about it, After I place two video cards in there, Will I still be able to fit my X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Champion Series sound card on the mother board as well?

My current build I have a 280i mother board, With a 275 & 8800 in there, And they both cover my pci slots, Not allowing me to place my sound card back in, Making me have to use a USB sound card that really sucks!

Thanks.

Also, What would be the best DDR3 ram to get with the X58?
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Question about the X58

Depends what motherboard you chose. Some will have all PCI slots block if two video cards, others have A PCI slot above the PCIE slots.

The RAM depends on whether or not you want to overclock.

You can get the cheapest x GB kit if your not overclocking.


All of this depends on what you want to do and how much you have to spend.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Question about the X58

Hey Ste, Thanks. I'm looking at eVGA's one, As I always only buy from eVGA, Bias I guess.

( Newegg.com - EVGA E758-A1 3-Way SLI (x16/x16/x8) LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards ) It has 3 pice slots, So I'm assuming the bottom PCI slot should be open since I'll only be placing in two cards, At least right now and for awhile.

As for ram, Yea I do plan on OC'ing, If I can still get the i7, Which from Newegg stock it shows I still can.
augest is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Question about the X58

Assuming the video cards are dual slot, and you have two of them, it will only block one PCI slot.


The very last PCI slot should still be open for your sound card.

How much memory did you want?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Question about the X58

That'd be even better! But honestly only need one really. I was either going to put in two 275's, Which I already have one, Just got it a couple months ago, Or buy a 285.

Ram these days seem to be 6 gig's most common, So I'd go with that. 2 Gig sticks seem to be better then what they use to be.

As for a HSF, I heard the dark knight was pretty decent? ( Newegg.com - XIGMATEK Intel Core i7 compatible Dark Knight-S1283V 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks )

Also, I got a random question, I just bought the Razer Mamba, And though I like the mouse it has a major issue, The least little shake on the desk will move the mouse, While I type right now the **** thing is moving all over the place, Trying to close out a tab in firefox takes me age's, And right clicking on a link takes even longer, It always moves my arrow miles away from where I want to click.

I've updated the drivers and firmware, But it still has the problem, Even took my dpi down to 800 (lowest it can go), And still has this problem. It's really turned me off to this mouse.
augest is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Question about the X58

Mouse: I think you should be able to adjust mouse sensitivity in the control Panel in windows, or check the companies website for fixes/software.

That heat sink looks fine for the price.

Make sure you buy thermal paste such as MX-1, MX-2, or TX line.
Artic silver is also good.

This is pretty good 6GB overclocking RAM.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231225

This is also very good set, but more expensive.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145222
Just tell us if you want to spend more/less.

You can be lower speed memory and just loosen timings when the speed goes past what it is rated for.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 07:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Question about the X58

I did that with the mouse, And it doesn't matter. Ha.. I'll contact them in a bit and see what they have to say about it.

Yep, I have Artic, Wouldn't use anything else. G-Skill use to be **** good ram for the price back in the day, Now it seems to be not much cheaper then other leading brands. Corsair is what I've always went with and what I was looking at now, But not that model, Thank you - As I'll be choosing that. For the price it's fair.

I'd rather not lose my timing. And 9 / 24 for that ram seems to be rather high. ( Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C7 G - Desktop Memory ) I liked them timings the best out of all the DDR3 ram I found, Pricey but honestly not near as bad as what my 4 gig's worth of DDR2 ram was back 3 years ago.

Thanks again for all your help and idea's!
augest is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 07:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Question about the X58

If the RAM is running under the speed its rated for, you can tighten the timings.

The 9-9-9-24 (or whatever it is) is if its running at 1600.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 07:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Question about the X58

Yea true, But what would be best, Better timings or speed? Cause with the XMS3, I can have cas at 7 still running 1600.
augest is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Question about the X58

Also Ste, In your opinion which hsf would be better. I'm currently using a Zelman 9500 and never had a problem with it. I noticed Zelman also makes a i7 HSF with a 120MM fan (Newegg.com - ZALMAN CNPS9900 NT 120mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks) for the I7's.

Do you think the zelman would be better then the Dark Knight?
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo Question lnodiv New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-17-2009 03:16 AM
Foxconn X58 Flaming Blade thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 21 02-20-2009 08:17 PM
MSI X58 Line-Up Slide Leaked Osiris New Technology and Products 18 09-29-2008 09:09 PM
Nvidia reported getting QPI license, X58 getting SLI maroon1 New Technology and Products 10 07-14-2008 01:56 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.