Question about when I FIRST turn on my custom PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2007, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 379
Default Question about when I FIRST turn on my custom PC

Some of you guys know I just ordered my first two parts (Case and Hard Drive) for my Custom ground-up PC. I hope to order the Power Supply and Mobo next week.

Anyways, obviously this is my first computer build (the only expierience I have besides this is installing a graphics card in my Dell).

Here is my question:

After I get everything hooked up on my PC, and hit the Power for the first time, what do I do next? How do I go from turning on the PC to installing the OS Software? Does it take me to a DOS prompt when I first turn it on?


King$nake is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421

Here's a good guide. It's on an AMD platform but things are still much the same.

Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 379

hmmm so basically I have to change the BIOS around to suit my hardware, restart and install Windows. Sounds simple enough. Anything else I should know?
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438

on your first start go to your bios menu go to the advanced settings go to boot priority set your cd rom drive as your primary boot device insert windows disk once windows installs you will have to restart then go back to your boot priority and set your hard drive as your primary boot device
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.