Question about upgrading my CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2008, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Question about upgrading my CPU?

I have a P4 3.2, 800MHZ FSB motherboard, 2GB PC4200 RAM and PCIE 1950 512MB video card. My question is if I upgraded to a core 2 duo 3.16 processor would I see any increase in performance in games such as crysis and the soon to be released far cry 2 and new call of duty game? Also the processor I want is 1333MHZ FSB and i would put that into a 800 motherboard, is that bad?
__________________

spinard is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Question about upgrading my CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinard View Post
I have a P4 3.2, 800MHZ FSB motherboard, 2GB PC4200 RAM and PCIE 1950 512MB video card. My question is if I upgraded to a core 2 duo 3.16 processor would I see any increase in performance in games such as crysis and the soon to be released far cry 2 and new call of duty game? Also the processor I want is 1333MHZ FSB and i would put that into a 800 motherboard, is that bad?
You'll get at least a 10x performance increase from changing to the core architecture, and any games that support multiple threads will definitely benefit. You will likely want a new motherboard, however.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Question about upgrading my CPU?

i dought a mobo designed for 800 fsb cpu's will support 1333 fsb let alone a quad or 45nm cpu, chipset is prolly to old ur gonna need a new mobo.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 06:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Question about upgrading my CPU?

and new ram, and gpu. then power supply probly
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 06:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Question about upgrading my CPU?

new mobo and RAM definitely, if you're gonna keep the same gpu then you can probablyy keep your current PSU, but if you want a new GPU, your gonna have to get a PSU to go with it
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Question about upgrading my CPU?

One thing to look out for, is if the mainboard lists FSB clock, while the processor lists a Rated FSB assuming 2 transfers per clock cycle.

Technically, my FSB is running at 711MHz, but it's sending instructions to the CPU at a rate of 1422MHz.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU question dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-23-2008 01:51 AM
upgrading the cpu on my dell dimension e310 ztz198 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-18-2008 11:13 PM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM
question about what to worry about cpu temp or core temp? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 2 12-19-2007 06:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.