question about thermal paste.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default question about thermal paste..

so I ordered my PC.

processor is 3700+ AMD san diego
video card is X800XL ATI
ram is 1 gig(2x512) 3200 corsair
powersupply is OCZ 450w
hardrive 120gig seagate SATA
motherboard MSI NF4 K8N NEO-4
a case, a cd/dvd rom and a floppy drive

I dont plan on overclocking---ever. This computer will be used for gaming and such.

Is thermal paste required? Or can I use the stock heatpad that will come with the heatsinc?
__________________

halruaa is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

if it's a retail bundle Processor and heatsink then no it's not.. However you will get better cooling performance with AS5
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i would get 6800GS instead of the X800XL more for your money

and the thermal paste comes on the heatsink of its a retail processor and alreayd ion the video card
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default

yeah everything will be retail.

Here's my processor, comes with heatsinc and fan

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
halruaa is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get the thermal paste. Despite what you say now, you WILL end up overclocking it at one point or another. The sysem in my signature is the first PC I have ever built, and before I built it I had no experience with overclocking what so ever. Look at me now. That HTT setting in the bios just became to tempting to resist.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 02:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

I would just get thermal paste when you need it. I would get a sapphire X800GTO2. As you can unlock it (change the bios) to get speed's of a X850PE which is twice the cost. The X800GTO2 costs about £150 ($250). This isn't overclocking it's just changing the bios. All you do is unlock unused pixel pipelines so it runs a lot faster.It doesn't make it run hotter or anything although i would overclock it just to get that little more power
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

no dont get any ati card just do what PZEROFGH said and get the 6800GS with a little overclocking and unlocking its much better then everything else in the 6800 series
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

The only reason you are saying that is because you like Nivida. There is no reason to get the Nvida card. It's slower even with the X800GTO2 not unlocked. So it's pointless. The only reason i suppose is because it supports pixel shader 3.0 but i that's no really massive thing anyway.
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

well if you dont upgrade in the future most new games will use "shader Model 3" not pixel shader 3 but people get confused. so if your gonna be playing alot of new games that require a good graphics card like ut2007 and shader model 3 and you wanna save 20 bucks go with the EVGA 6800GS.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

not because his a fanboy because its better

and why do you always go around and saying teh X800GTO2 is the best card around and you even said two of them in crossfire is for high end systems??!

i think your a ATI fanboy :amazed:
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.