Question about Thermal Paste - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2008, 09:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Prospect, CT
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Sigma62
Default Question about Thermal Paste

So, long story short, I'm about to start my first build in about 2 weeks. I just got my CPU / Heat sink in the mail. Its a Intel Core 2 duo E7300. So, as I was checking it out, I wasn't really paying attention and I accidental touched the pre-installed thermal compound on the heat sink. I didn't really think anything of it at first but then realized that could be a very bad thing. My question is, should I buy a thermal compound cleaner kit and some thermal compound and install my own? Or can I get away with using the pre installed? Its not like I smudged the **** out of it, I just touched it and you can see a little indent in the grease. This being my first build, I don't really know to much about thermal compound and whatnot so I figured I'd come here and ask. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Sigma62 is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

Just leave it, you'll be fine. I would be more worried if you touched the connection side of the processor. All that thermal compound is is a greasy paste mixture to transfer heat. NO HARM can be done to it by touching it unless you removed a good portion of it to where it wouldn't transfer heat properly.

IMO you're fine.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Prospect, CT
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Sigma62
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

Alright yah, thanks. Yah The processor is still in the case, I just took the heatsink out and touched the paste, none of it was removed in the process I just wanted to make sure that I couldn't harm it from the grease on my fingers and whatnot. Lol run on sentence. Thanks again
Sigma62 is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

Just keep an eye on your CPU temps when you fire that baby up. If It is getting much higher than 60C on full load you may want to replace the paste but it should not be a problem.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

You will be fine lol. Its just a paste to help transfer heat. As long as you didnt remove it then its ok.
__________________
Intel Q9550 ( 3.84ghz OC on air)
Asus Rampage Formula
OCZ Platinum dual channel memory 8gig
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Radeon 4870 512mb

[img]//www.speedtest.net/result/396631319.png[/img]
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

No need for a cleaning kit. I use lint-free paper towels (coffee filters work) to wipe of the bulk of it, then rubbing alcohol and cotton swabs to finish the job.

I am still using my tube of MX1, but MX2 is a little better. ArticSilver is still a good standby, as well. But if you are sticking with the stock cooler, just use what is on it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

i am using silver compound, is it good or should i get the mx2? my i7 gets hot?

not hijacking thread, just need help in this department too
__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

MX 1 & 2 beat ArticSilver. There are some decent articles that bench several different pastes... I used to have them bookmarked, but that was a couple of hard drives ago. you',, have to Google it. There was one paste that blew them all away, but I don't remember the name. It was hard to find, as well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

It really depends on how the paste is applied.
I find it impossible to create accurate benchmarks for thermal pastes.

I just use a regular branded one. <_<
keygen is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Question about Thermal Paste

Tuniq TX-2 is the best thermal paste now, it is also cheaper than MX-2 or AS5.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Thermal Paste Already Applied? Method New Systems | Building and Buying 12 08-07-2008 12:11 PM
Applying thermal paste Brinson System Upgrades 5 12-24-2007 04:33 PM
Thermal Paste? RyanWhitell New Systems | Building and Buying 13 12-02-2007 02:15 AM
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.