question about SLI n Crossfire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default question about SLI n Crossfire

hey there guys, im just curious is to how it works. My friend told me that u need 2 of the same kind of graphics card to make SLI work, well does that go with brand or no?

same goes with with Crossfire, do u need the same kind of graphics card n brand or just same kind?

my friend has an eVGA 7900 GTX n he says u need the same kind of graphics card but doesnt know if it has to be the same brand.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

It doesn't have to be the same brand. Just have to be the same kind and speed. For SLI, as long as it's two 7900GTXs of any brand, SLI will work. Same with Crossfire.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

Crossfire works a little differently. You can Crossfire any two cards that are Crossfire ready, however they will only operate as well as the lowest of the two cards. For example you could crossfire an x1600 and an x1800, but the x1800 would only operate at the effeciency of the x1600.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

Oh...I didn't know that. Good to know...It's like mixing ram sticks of different speed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDiceman View Post
Crossfire works a little differently. You can Crossfire any two cards that are Crossfire ready, however they will only operate as well as the lowest of the two cards. For example you could crossfire an x1600 and an x1800, but the x1800 would only operate at the effeciency of the x1600.
oooh.. .didn't know that either.... but an if u get two different card manufacturers with SLi because when u SLi them, it will scale closer to the lower clocked card.....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

Also, something else annoying about crossfire, it used to be that you had to have a "Master" card to make crossfire work, although I am not sure if that is true anymore. I vaugely remember reading soemwhere that they changed that because "Master" cards were never in high enough supply.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

thx for the info guys, appreciate it people. I dont think my friend wants another 7900 GTX for a while though, he's good with his 7900 GTX. Runs all the latest games with no problem, only thing is his Windows XP Pro is pirated but other than that, he is in no hurry for SLI........yet.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 10:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
thx for the info guys, appreciate it people. I dont think my friend wants another 7900 GTX for a while though, he's good with his 7900 GTX. Runs all the latest games with no problem, only thing is his Windows XP Pro is pirated but other than that, he is in no hurry for SLI........yet.
lol... can't he beg microsoft out of a key?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 12:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

lol of course he cant bill gates needs the money *cough*
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: question about SLI n Crossfire

hey yeah i didnt no that bout xfire either interesting.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.