Question about RAM and AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2011, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Question Question about RAM and AMD

Currently my system runs on 4GB of RAM and i would like to speed up my system by purchasing more RAM. i was wondering what are my options. my motherboard is an MSI 890FXA-GD70. It has 4 RAM slots, and currently has two open slots.

i was considering purchasing 8 extra RAM to make a grand total of 12GB but i heard somewhere that AMD only supports something like 4gb, 8gb, and 16GB at once, otherwise u have to do something weird. or something dumb like that. i havent been able to find any add'l information about it.

Thanks.

and yes, i know i need a 64-bit system.
__________________

flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Question about RAM and AMD

I don't know where you go your MIS informations, but AMD has no memory restrictions like that. They can handle as much as the OS and mobo allow.

Adding more RAM over and above 4GB is not going to give you any additional spped unless you are working on large images in Photoshop or something. What are your current specs? We will see what can be done from there.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: Question about RAM and AMD

From the sound of it, sounds like you could do with a faster cpu. But I will tell you I used to have 4gb of ram ddr3 and I upgrade to 12 and I notice a big difference in speed, but I also have a 6 core cpu so it was already pretty fast to begin with.
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
4P_Bulldozer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 205
Default Re: Question about RAM and AMD

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipp1234567 View Post
Currently my system runs on 4GB of RAM and i would like to speed up my system by purchasing more RAM. i was wondering what are my options. my motherboard is an MSI 890FXA-GD70. It has 4 RAM slots, and currently has two open slots.

i was considering purchasing 8 extra RAM to make a grand total of 12GB but i heard somewhere that AMD only supports something like 4gb, 8gb, and 16GB at once, otherwise u have to do something weird. or something dumb like that. i havent been able to find any add'l information about it.

Thanks.

and yes, i know i need a 64-bit system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipp1234567 View Post
... what are my options ...
1, Keep it as is. - Cheapest (use another method to obtain more RAM speed (like "Game Booster")).
2. Buy more of the same type of Chips. - Low cost, still same memory speed, and no more upgrades.
3. Toss out all the Chips and buy all new ones. - Higher cost. Can use less Slots with BIG Chips and gain higher speed with faster ones.


Quote:
Originally Posted by flipp1234567 View Post
... total of 12GB ... only supports something like 4gb, 8gb, and 16GB ... u have to do something weird. or something dumb ...
You may be confusing Posts about AMD vs. Intel and Dual Channel vs. Triple Channel.

You need to 'pair' (or 'triple-pair') your Chips for faster speed, if you don't they run slower. See here: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1467440. That means either 2 or 4 otherwise 3 or 6 pairs of Chips, in your case it's 2 or 4.


Quote:
Originally Posted by flipp1234567 View Post
i was considering purchasing 8 extra RAM to make a grand total of 12GB...
I advise:
1. Buy a faster Processor, IF the one you want is now much cheaper than when you started out.
2. Buy a second Graphics Card to add speed to the first.
3. Buy a faster Graphics Card and sell/trade the old one.
4. More of the same RAM Chips for a total of 8Gb.
5. Buy faster RAM and toss the old, small, slow ones.
6. LAST and LEAST, buy 8 more GB for a total of 12Gb of RAM (unless you are using PS or Maya, even then examine the first 3 choices).
7. Sell old RAM, Processor and Graphics Card; then upgrade them all (while you can).

You probably do NOT need more RAM and would be better to either save your money or spend it elsewhere (not on 12Gb RAM, 8Gb will be lots).
__________________
Bulldozer Will Rule.

http://img.tineye.com/result/adb2576...a2f274a8433fda Got a question, try the Search Bar.
4P_Bulldozer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Symbian S60v5 question video recorder question(Vivaz) marcoax Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 03-07-2011 05:52 PM
gentouch78 tablet question (warning noob question) tomc102968 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 3 11-23-2010 01:13 PM
build question...e760 or e758?? also question about RAM eagle5968 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-28-2010 10:35 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
Vista BETA Question EASY QUESTION? AuThoRitY Microsoft Windows and Software 9 12-21-2005 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.