Question about quad core.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2007, 06:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Question about quad core..

With AMD's quad cores coming out in Q3/4... Im probably going to build a rig, so I'm looking now to get an AM2 Mobo/CPU to hold me over til they come out.. So the question is, will an AMD quad core work with todays Mobos? or does it need to be diffferent... will I have to wait for quad cores to hit, before I can get a mobo to run it?
__________________

PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about quad core..

The new AMD processors, will be compatible with AM2 boards. I think you would just have to update the BIOS.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Question about quad core..

it should work fine with AM2 mobo's I think but you won't be able to use dimm3 so you may need to upgrade your mobo again In a couple of years
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Question about quad core..

Mmmk.

I wasnt sure, thank you.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Question about quad core..

Quad-cores will only be avaiable on socket L or 1207 which can be bought right now.

Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!)

not sure if they'll be able to use the 4000ht bus though, but thats a whole new socket together. and to bad that is the ONLY mobo you can buy for quad-core right now
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Question about quad core..

about half way down are all the processors and the compatibility lists
AMD K10 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about quad core..

The new quad-cores will fit with AM2. The Phenom X4s. But the AM2 motherboard won't take advantage of their 4000MHz bus. It will only run at 2000MHz I believe. Thats where the AM2+ socket comes in.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Question about quad core..

^^and also ddr3 i believe^^^
not sure bout that tho. also read further down the wiki article about 64-bit performance.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Geforce 8800 Ultra SLI or quad core qx6800 advancedgeek New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-08-2007 10:51 AM
Core 2 Duo Extremes odd..... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-30-2007 03:34 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Intel's New Glory CPU: Core 2 Extreme Edition QX6800 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-09-2007 04:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.