Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2007, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Hi there, I am building my own pc for the first time.

Here are the components I was thinking of getting.

Will the conroe processor work in the motherboard which I think is conroe?.

Anyone know if I can use the 550w power supply with the bits and pieces listed reliably?.

Any comments on my picks, will it make a fairly decent gaming system in your opinion?.

I have included the links to the items in question(only for reference to the motherboard/processor query).
Thanks for any help given!.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Tray 4096Kb, LGA775, 64bit, Conroe
hardwareversand.de - Artikel-Information

ASUS P5LD2/C Rev2.0,Sockel 775 Intel 945P, ATX, PCIe
hardwareversand.de - Artikel-Information

1024MB DDR2 Corsair Valuesel. CL 5, PC5400/667

MSI RX1950PRO-VT2D512E, 512MB, PCI-Express

Samsung SH-S182D bare DVD drive

Samsung SP1654N P80,160GB 7200, 8 MB Cache

ATX-Netzteil Xilence Power 550 Watt / SPS-XP550
__________________

TVDX is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

The Conroes use 65w of power...with that build a GOOD 400 watt PSu could run it. Where are you ordering from?
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Thanks for the quick reply.
So you reckon the 550 w power supply will do all that and all is suitable?.
If, so I will go with it.

I am ordering from Germany.
First site in links is the one, I'm in Europe myself.

Any comments on the general build, do you think I'll get good gaming out of it?.
TVDX is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVDX View Post
Thanks for the quick reply.
So you reckon the 550 w power supply will do all that and all is suitable?.
If, so I will go with it.

I am ordering from Germany.
First site in links is the one, I'm in Europe myself.

Any comments on the general build, do you think I'll get good gaming out of it?.
dont go by watts. Go by the amperage on the 12 volt rails.

8 watts is one amp
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

will u be overclocking??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Well, I'm new to the overclocking thing so I will probably leave it as it is, but would it be possible to?.
TVDX is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

most likely you will be able to
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

I must go ahead with that so, thanks for the advice.
Processors usually come with fans in their box versions don't they?.
Wouldn't want to forget the fan!.
TVDX is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVDX View Post
I must go ahead with that so, thanks for the advice.
Processors usually come with fans in their box versions don't they?.
Wouldn't want to forget the fan!.
retail CPU's do come with a stock fan. However if they say "OEM" that means it's just the chip if you want to overclock get an aftermarket
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 09:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about power supply needs and conroe processor? Help needed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
retail CPU's do come with a stock fan. However if they say "OEM" that means it's just the chip if you want to overclock get an aftermarket
ya its not worth it to get a retail CPU if u are getting a aftermarket cooler, its better to shave off the extra cash and get the cooler instead of trashing the intel one
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.