question about my processor socket - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2007, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Unhappy question about my processor socket

hey guys. i am in the process of upgrading by system, and i wanna do it one step at a time so i dont run out of money. the first thing i wanna upgrade is my mobo so that i can get a mobo thats compatible with a pentium 4 as well as a c2d, and may be quad core. the reason for doing this is because i have a pentium 4, 3 ghz processor, and i want to soon upgrade to atleast a e6300

i have one question, i used a system configarating software to find out what cpu do i have, and it said this
"PROCESSOR, 80547, PENTIUM 4 PRESCOTT DT, 630, SKT-T, MALE"

so my question is, does my processor has a 775 socket? and is it the same as this one on newegg
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium 4 630 Prescott 3.0GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 EM64T Processor - Retail

the reason for this is because i wanto find out if my cpu has a 775 socket or not, so i can get a mobo.


so guys, please could u suggest a mobo for me that would be compatible with the pentium 4 as well as a c2d for future upgrade. i would appreciate that. currently i am using corsair value select ddr2 533.

please let me know what motherboard i shoud get

thanks guys
__________________

siddanth3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: question about my processor socket

I'm not sure how many core 2 duo motherboards work with pentium 4's but I know for sure this does.

Newegg.com - Intel BOXDG965WHMKR LGA 775 Intel G965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________

Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 05:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: question about my processor socket

I think theres a second improved model of that motherboard out now I was going to get it but went with the p5b
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: question about my processor socket

come on guys, any suggestions on the motherboard? could u tell me if my curent cpu has a 775 socket?
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: question about my processor socket

well just look up your motherboard on google!!!!!

Abit Aw9d-max is a great 775 board
for cheaper but still good there is the gigabyte ds3 and asus p5b
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: question about my processor socket

goto newegg and find your processor.
goto specs.
and viola!
or use google.

not many people want to do your searching-work.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: question about my processor socket

Or you can download CPU-Z.
augest is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 02:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: question about my processor socket

or PCwizard. It's real helpful.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: question about my processor socket

Everest home will tell you indepth info about every component in your build
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: question about my processor socket

I would get CPU-Z for a quick motherboard find. Everest will tell you your motherboard all right...and just about every other frickin thing you could POSSIBLY need to know lol.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Cigarette Adapter Question (random)? welsh Off Topic Discussion 4 04-18-2007 01:48 PM
Question about Torrent files KingAustin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 04-15-2007 11:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.