A question about my power supply. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2007, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Phase-Six's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default A question about my power supply.

Ok well my question is if I will need any more power for my build because I had bought a case thinking it didnt have a power supply but it did and Im wondering if it had enough power for my build. Its a 500 wat power supply and here is the following parts.

Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148139

Video card:



Cpu cooler: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223

Case (with the 500 power in it) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811156062

Dvd player: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136103

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
Here is the power supply I thought I needed but do I still need it?

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

not that much... but I wouldn't trust the PSU from the case... they are pretty much crap...

a 500W should be MORE than enough. this one is good and a little cheaper.



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to kz26

I would say that a 500W PSU is enough. In my opinion, its cutting it a bit close without a lot of extra room. If you will be doing some OCing, or if you plan to do some upgrading in the future, go for that 580W. Plus it seems the 580W unit has some sort of cable management thing...
kz26 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Phase-Six's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250

Ok for now I think I will stay with my 500 and when I get everything bought and ready to go and if I start over clocking I will buy the 580 but for now I'm short on money so yeah.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

well if your not going to be overclocking then just use the stock cooler you cpu comes with, and with the money you save get a fortron 450 watt (which is enough to power that rig plus more)

and later when you start overclocking, the stock cooler will let you overclock a good bit
fade2black2004 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.