A question about my power supply. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2007, 12:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default A question about my power supply.

Ok well my question is if I will need any more power for my build because I had bought a case thinking it didnt have a power supply but it did and Im wondering if it had enough power for my build. Its a 500 wat power supply and here is the following parts.

Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148139

Video card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143071

Ram:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227124

Mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128018

Cpu cooler: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118223

Case (with the 500 power in it) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811156062

Dvd player: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827136103

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115005
---------------------------------
Here is the power supply I thought I needed but do I still need it?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817128002
__________________

Phase-Six is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

not that much... but I wouldn't trust the PSU from the case... they are pretty much crap...

a 500W should be MORE than enough. this one is good and a little cheaper.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to kz26
Default

I would say that a 500W PSU is enough. In my opinion, its cutting it a bit close without a lot of extra room. If you will be doing some OCing, or if you plan to do some upgrading in the future, go for that 580W. Plus it seems the 580W unit has some sort of cable management thing...
kz26 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Phase-Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 250
Default

Ok for now I think I will stay with my 500 and when I get everything bought and ready to go and if I start over clocking I will buy the 580 but for now I'm short on money so yeah.
Phase-Six is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

well if your not going to be overclocking then just use the stock cooler you cpu comes with, and with the money you save get a fortron 450 watt (which is enough to power that rig plus more)

and later when you start overclocking, the stock cooler will let you overclock a good bit
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.