Question about my B3 q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 10:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Question about my B3 q6600

Ok so i got impatient and traded my e6600 for a q6600 but its only b3 stepping and runs hot as well you know. I still have a week left where i can return it to microcenter, but it will only be for credit. My quandry is this. Should i order a new q6600 from somewhere that i know i can get a g0 then return the b3 and get an evga 8800gts as trade? Currently microcenter has the 8800gts overclocked version for 279 after rebates and i paid 289 for the cpu.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

I just ordered a Q6600 from Newegg ... how do you tell which stepping it has?
__________________

Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

The only way to know for sure is to check the box. Its part of the serial number. Sadly when i bought mine microcenter only had b3's and i figured a b3 was still better than my e6600. Newegg is a gamble at the moment.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

You can't tell unless you receive it. Look on the label, and if it says SLACR next to the model number, than it's G0.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

Someone back me up on this. I need the extra kick in the pants. I'm really debating on ordering a g0 from tankguys, because they guarantee the g0 and returning my b3 for the 8800gts.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

Well depends on price... Newegg at 299 if it's roughly same price I would say yea but how badly do you want a GO...Also what are the chances considering I ordered today that I will get a GO stepping Q6600?
Mechtech3000 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

The chances of getting a G0 are better than before, as most likely, alot of the B3 stock has been sold.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

Right now the only way to ensure getting a g0 is to order from tankguys. Everyone else is just a gamble.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

Theres where I'm getting it from. They ship them out on Monday.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 11:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 135
Default Re: Question about my B3 q6600

Well Even though I really don't care because I'm not sure if I'll OC but I really do HOPE I get the G0 now ;P
__________________

Mechtech3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B3 Q6600 not so bad naerskine Overclocking and Modding 15 08-09-2007 12:41 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Quadcore question. xarcos Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-18-2007 11:30 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.