Question about memory for MOBO's. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2008, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Question Question about memory for MOBO's.

Sorry about stupid questions but i dont know about some of the deeper specs of some of this hardware. What im trying to find out is if the motherboard youre going to get has in the specs, "Memory Standard: DDR2 1200" for instance, like this ASUS here, does that mean its not going to work with products such as GPU's like the 4850 that are DDR3? Or if it will work are you still going to get bad performance since the motherboard isnt DDR3?

By the same token can you only get RAM that is DDR2 1200? DDR2 1000 wont work for example?
__________________

CMBrooker85 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 11:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

No, the GPU ram has nothing to do with mobo specs. You can get a vid card with DDR3 on it no problem

If a mobo supports DDR2 1200, it will support all DDR2 that is slower than that, DDR2 1066, DDR2 800, etc.
__________________

__________________
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
BFG 8800GTS
E8400
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMBrooker85 View Post
Sorry about stupid questions but i dont know about some of the deeper specs of some of this hardware. What im trying to find out is if the motherboard youre going to get has in the specs, "Memory Standard: DDR2 1200" for instance, like this ASUS here, does that mean its not going to work with products such as GPU's like the 4850 that are DDR3? Or if it will work are you still going to get bad performance since the motherboard isnt DDR3?

By the same token can you only get RAM that is DDR2 1200? DDR2 1000 wont work for example?
Yep it will still work

GDDR3 is Video RAM
DDR2 is Physical RAM

They aren't co-related you can still use GDDR3 on a DDR2 board
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

ddr 1200 is usually an OC speed. So when you pop it in it'll run at 800mhz but you can OC to 1200. Incase you do buy it don't expect to run right at 1200mhz w/ out having to OC it.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

Cool, thanks guys.

P.S. Ill have to look into overclocking. I know virutally nothing about it aside from its concept and purpose.
CMBrooker85 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

Don't worry about frying stuff... just don't get selfish and do it carefully you won't have to worry about RMA'ing anything... we'll all guide you through it if you need help

Its just a matter of changing numbers and having adequate cooling and that equals free performance
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 01:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

AWESOME! Thanks man, and i assure you ill be lookiong for help. Im about to post the build im ordering to see what you guys think.

BTW reply #1... EPIC FAIL
CMBrooker85 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 01:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

That guy is a spammer anyways... he tried to spam some "Computer Matters" Place or something..

I'll remove his post..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

Beat Him Down!!!
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Question about memory for MOBO's.

He only got a warning because he posted that wrong post up there before to not look as like a Spammer.. ahh w/e who needs spammers (Wait I know this one... the Recycle Bin does!)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Question. peterhuang913 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-20-2008 06:28 PM
Memory Question Kickin11 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-23-2008 11:08 PM
Swapping out memory from a Toshiba to a Dell. Just a compatibility question. Jayce Laptops and Notebooks 2 12-25-2007 12:48 AM
/3GB switch, serious problems Forze Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-26-2007 01:54 PM
Memory (RAM) question braz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-11-2007 01:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.