Question about Gaming vs CAD vs Photo/Video Editing Rigs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2013, 09:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Question about Gaming vs CAD vs Photo/Video Editing Rigs

Quote:
Originally Posted by laxer368 View Post
With expierence using lots of different Cad systems I think that if some one plans on doing complex stuff in more then one program at a time the more ram the better ( to a realistic point) also the way the CAD specific video cards are just a little bit more geared towards precision as apposed to smoothness but its going to take a very intensive CAD user to notice this
I agree, but budget and other uses dictate what I would tell somebody to go for. Then again personally I have never seen a CAD program use more than 16GB of RAM, but I don't have much personal experience with them.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 09:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: Question about Gaming vs CAD vs Photo/Video Editing Rigs

RAM speed plays more of a part in CAD and programs like it.
when your doing something that takes a week to render in CAD, a 3200MHZ RAM speed will speed things up a bit(not much)
if you game with 3200MHZ RAM thats like a waste of money because its just too much and you wont notice the difference at all other than in benchmarks.

can anyone second this?
__________________

__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 09:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Default

Steve I haven't played with that yet


and I personally have never needed more then my 16 gigs but have a buddy who on large rendered type files sometimes breaks 20
laxer368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 09:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Question about Gaming vs CAD vs Photo/Video Editing Rigs

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve10765 View Post
RAM speed plays more of a part in CAD and programs like it.
when your doing something that takes a week to render in CAD, a 3200MHZ RAM speed will speed things up a bit(not much)
if you game with 3200MHZ RAM thats like a waste of money because its just too much and you wont notice the difference at all other than in benchmarks.

can anyone second this?
Don't think you'd ever see 3200 in a CAD machine honestly, as that's above stable limits for any kind of serious CAD work. Even most overclockers still don't really go above 2800 besides LN2 enthusiasts.

Even still, using Maya I don't see much of a difference between 1600 or 2133. Granted, I've never rendered anything that would take that long. Actually, I get impatient if something takes over a few hours with GPGPU help.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.