Question about determining +/- wires - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2007, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Question about determining +/- wires

So yeah now comes time for me to put the power LED/power SW/Hard drive LED/reset SW/Speaker etc pins into the mobo. Problem is I can't tell whats the positive or negative wires to put them in their pins. The manual says to be sure to match up the + or negative. I mean on the black plastic for the wire itself it shows an Arrow usually next to a red wire, and a G for the other wire ( mostly black but sometimes white or something ). Is it safe to assume the arrow means positive?

EDIT: I guess I'll just go with this statement: " Pay attention to positive and negative pins on the header; you need to attach the leads so that the colored wire is over the positive pin and the white wire is over the negative (or ground) pin. "

found here: Smart Computing Article - Best Budget Linux Server Under $500
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

Color wires are positive, white are negative.
This is actually VERY simple.
For switches: either way works.
For LEDs, if the light doesn't show up, switch it around.
Two simple ideas so you don't get confused.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 02:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

lol i just plugged mine and not even sure which one is positive and neg.

I just plugged it in and it worked lolz.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Color wires are positive, white are negative.
This is actually VERY simple.
For switches: either way works.
For LEDs, if the light doesn't show up, switch it around.
Two simple ideas so you don't get confused.
And check your Motherboard's Manual as well.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

could this be the cause of why i get a static sound when i use my mouse or when i do anything on my computer like scroll down, switch windows and etc? because i didnt attach them correctly? ill try to fix that 2morrow and see if it solves the issue why i get statics on headphones cuz my headphones is attached to the one that is on the case.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

Yep, that would be a ground wire issue. Your headphones and speakers are both ultimately grounded to the case, so certain activities would cause certain interferences with the sound and even video (but video would probably be unnoticeable).

Good luck finding it though, there are a million possibilities XD
Alexinator is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Question about determining +/- wires

Woot, i just rewired everything again and the only thing faulty i found was that the Power Led was on there backwards, the white wire is on the postive instead of the negative, now I have a big blue light led power led on the front of my case that Ive never seen before haha.

As far as the static goes, it solved the issue for some reason, i think its because one of the audio connector, the thermaltake armor came with two front audio connectors, the AC97 and some other thing, I think the "some other thing connector" which is snot plugged in, is touching parts of the motherboard. Not so sure but the static is gone now, somehow rewiring everything solved the issue.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Wires affect performace/heat Max Power Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-10-2007 07:08 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.