question about the ATI R600..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default question about the ATI R600.....

i am planning on getting a new graphics card first; first step to fully upgrading my computer.

i want to get the ATI R600, n hopefully a second in the far future, now my question is this:

Do u guys think the ATI R600 will work with my mobo? My mobo n specs r right in this link, the closest mobo to mine that i could find:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135175
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

It will be a standard PCI-E x16 card so I don't see why not...

not the greatest mobo choice imo, though
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

hmmm...if i were you, id prob save the money that your spending on the r600 and get a new mobo (a gigabyte ds3 or something like that), a e6320 (the new e6300 with 4mb cache enabled) when they come out, and some ddr2 800 ram (g.skill have some good value ddr2 800 but ddr2 is still kinda expensive ) for the same price as a r600 (its supposed be about the same price as teh 8800gtx i think).

Cause your current system will probably bottle neck the r600 (even more so if it turns out to be what its hyped up to be).

Or you could get a 939 dual core and you may still be able to get a r600 but the conroe route is probably a better upgrade decision.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

hmm.. ati better hurry up, right now nvidia is taking over
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Graham
It will be a standard PCI-E x16 card so I don't see why not...

not the greatest mobo choice imo, though
u sure? i mean my mobo is like all Nvidia n **** lol, wouldnt it not accept ATI graphics cards?

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
hmmm...if i were you, id prob save the money that your spending on the r600 and get a new mobo (a gigabyte ds3 or something like that), a e6320 (the new e6300 with 4mb cache enabled) when they come out, and some ddr2 800 ram (g.skill have some good value ddr2 800 but ddr2 is still kinda expensive ) for the same price as a r600 (its supposed be about the same price as teh 8800gtx i think).

Cause your current system will probably bottle neck the r600 (even more so if it turns out to be what its hyped up to be).

Or you could get a 939 dual core and you may still be able to get a r600 but the conroe route is probably a better upgrade decision.
ya ya, im on the urge to fully upgrading my computer, im just starting with the ATI R600 first.

second, my mid-tower case to a full-tower (one with 1-2 120mm fans, especially one on the side), which i am searching for.

third, ill upgrade my mobo to AM2 (or AM3) with 2 x 2GB DDR2 800 SDRAM, n the AMD quad-core. As of right now, i cant find a good decent AM2 mobo that has at least 3 PCI n Crossfire: 2 PCI-E v2.0. I'll buy a new mobo, 4GB DDR2 800 SDRAM, n AMD's quad-core simultaneously.

how much will this cost me? Over $3000-$4000.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

When is the ATI R600 expected any way?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wildside
u sure? i mean my mobo is like all Nvidia n **** lol, wouldnt it not accept ATI graphics cards?


That's just the chipset. The R600 will work in any board that has PCI-e x16.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
When is the ATI R600 expected any way?
at the end of January 2007; around Vista's launch, which i wont get tell hopefully next year.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
When is the ATI R600 expected any way?
Ive HEARD the end of this month but i think its based on the "leaks" that came out a little while ago, so im not quite sure. Could be the end of this month or it could be the end of march.....but it should be sometime soon if ati wants to stay in the high end market when vista comes out cause nvidia are the only ones with dx10 cards out.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
That's just the chipset. The R600 will work in any board that has PCI-e x16.
i hope so, im was kind a freakin out.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.