Question About the 8800's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2006, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to chris0201987
Default Question About the 8800's for my new build

I hear the 8800's will be a pretty big cards. And Since I've just found out there is a recall on the 8800GTX's im gonna go with the 8800GTS and was wondering if it would fit in this case?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

And I've also purchased this Mobo already

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=2&NoMapp=0

and was just wondering if its good enough or should i send back and get an asus or Gigabyte?
__________________

chris0201987 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Your links are not working. Make sure when you paste them there is no ..... in the middle of the link.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to chris0201987
Default

I apologize.. tigerdirect took the case w/o the power supply off the site which is the one I bought because Power Supply is only 450W. But here is the Case.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=0&NoMapp=0
chris0201987 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I don't see any problem with putting an 8800 in that case. They are going to make the vid cards compatible with as many systems as possible.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

The length of the card is what will pose any possible problems. The card will be the same height as all other gfx cards.

As long as the case has a good, open interior, it ought to fit.

EDIT: I just looked on down at the pix for it. You may want to measure to make sure. The card will have to fit under the hard drive cage... but the cooling unit is under there. There may be enough clearance, but the pix have no measurements on them.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 12:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

That is a really interesting case....

too bad it comes with a power supply
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 03:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Your links are not working. Make sure when you paste them there is no ..... in the middle of the link.
AHHH HAAA!!!!! I CAUGHT YOU WITH A TYPO MR. GAMMAR POLICE! lol

Why is there are recall on the 8800's?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
AHHH HAAA!!!!! I CAUGHT YOU WITH A TYPO MR. GAMMAR POLICE! lol

Why is there are recall on the 8800's?
I'm not sure what you are talking about

LOL: Gammar police.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 05:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

lol - must be nice to have SMOD abilities... it's ok elbatrop, i got your back.

anyway.. back on topic...

They are recalling a batch of cards due to a BOM error - wrong resistor value. - So yeah. I answered my own question.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 06:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Cases that will fit a 8800GTX.
http://www.hardforum.com/showthread....&highlight=g80
__________________

danman12003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.