Question about 680i motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2007, 02:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Default Question about 680i motherboard

Hello, the question I have is does anyone know where the 4-pin plug is for the audio cable for the optical drive? I've looked all over the board and manual and can't find it. I'm wondering if there's something different that I need, because this audio cable came with my dvd drive, but I can't find where to plug it in on the motherboard, so I'm not sure what I have to do to get the audio from my optical drive. Please help me figure this out, thank you.
__________________

Blank_Man is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 07:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I've never had to use those cables to get audio out of my optical drives. I can just throw a CD in and it works.

From my experience, they're usually down in the lower left corner or at the bottom some where.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

Ive never had to use them with any CD drive ever. I have however always noticed them being used in much older systems only.
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Default

ok, thank you for the replys, I was just wondering how else it would hook up to the motherboard, because all that's plugged into it now is the power supply cable. let me know it that's all it needs or if theres any other cables that I might need. Once again, thank you very much.
Blank_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.