question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
Default question

Can this play dvds or only write them?
Newegg.com - Sony NEC Optiarc Black 18X DVD+R 6X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 18X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 18X DVD±R DVD Burner, OEM Version - OEM
__________________

techman321 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: question

both, I was looking at this too until I decided to go with the samsung one just cause it won more awards, the sony one is fine too...
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 07:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: question

Where you see "ROM" that means it's a reader. So this model will read CD's at 48x and DVD's at 16x, as well as write them at those various speeds listed.
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
Default Re: question

Thanks so much, guys.
techman321 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default Re: question

Lol, does that thing only work with SATA? As in, no IDE cables? That's amusing.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: question

i didn't feel like making a new thread for a single question..so ill ask it here

if i were to get vista 64-bit (which i will later), do i need to reformat my seagate to import my files over? or can i just leave it the way it is, which is a storage bin
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TriEclipse View Post
Lol, does that thing only work with SATA? As in, no IDE cables? That's amusing.
Theres SATA versions and IDE versions of almost every drive now...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 09:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: question

And, before long, no more IDE at all. They are slowly but surely being phased out.
Paisan is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default Re: question

Good riddance ofcourse, but that would still be a nasty surprise if someone didn't check before buying.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paisan View Post
Where you see "ROM" that means it's a reader as well as a writer. So this model will read CD's as 48x and DVD's at 16x.
no ROM stands for "Read-Only Memory"
you want a DVD-RW drive as in "Re-Writable"

so if its just a DVD-ROM then it wont burn just read
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID question? Ice8168 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-20-2007 05:19 PM
Question about Video Cards and Compiz Fusion aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 07-19-2007 04:16 PM
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.