Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2007, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default Question

Alright, I plan on upgrading my computer but im not sure what to do
This is it so far
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Socket 939
Gigabyte K8 Triton MoBo
512 DDR Memory
80GB Hard Drive
475W PSU

I want to get an EVGA Geforce 7950GT. The only problem is, is that my mobo doesn't have PCI express. So im gunna need a new one. My question is if I should upgrade to an AM2 board. Cause i hear that 939 is getting old.
__________________

Goped79 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

whats your budget?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default

well i want to keep it under $1000
Goped79 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Fayt19
Default

I had the same problem and I made a build to do this with the SAME GPU for around 500...I made a build I was going to upgrade my 3200 to a 3700+, upgrade my mobo with one that had a PCI express slot and got the graphics card the 7950GT and it was under 500

edit: For under 1,000 you could re make a WHOLE computer and go wit ha AMD X2
Fayt19 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default

well do you think i need to upgrade to AM2? cause i just wanna be able to run games like FEAR, Quake 4, and Oblivion on high. also i might wanna upgarde to dual core, but i dont know if 939 is good for dual core or not
Goped79 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

The AM2 4200+ or E6300 Intel with Gigabyte S series Mobo's and that video card, 2 gigs of Corsair or the like and you can produce a screaqmer for less than $1000!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Default

alright that sounds good. thanks for the advice (:
__________________

Goped79 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.