quad6600 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 08:59 PM   #31 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad6600

It's called business. I would do the same thing, if I was Microsoft. If people are willing to buy the product....why not?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:01 PM   #32 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
It's called business. I would do the same thing, if I was Microsoft. If people are willing to buy the product....why not?
Business is to make your product crappy? What business school are you going too?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:03 PM   #33 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad6600

Vista is not that crappy. But it has sold millions already. Business is to make money. Look at Dell. Inferior desktops, but millions of people are still buying them.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:06 PM   #34 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Vista is not that crappy. But it has sold millions already. Business is to make money. Look at Dell. Inferior desktops, but millions of people are still buying them.
Vista is crappy. Surely all the compatability problems, performance hits, slow support, have made system builders and other "intelligent" individuals and businesses not go for Vista. Its not being adopted very well at all, I wouldn't exactly say it was the "success" they were hoping for.

Since when does Dell have inferior desktops? I was under the impression that in comparison to all the big time companies, Dell had the better line of products ( which isn't saying very much... )
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:08 PM   #35 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad6600

I should of meant inferior desktops as inferior, in terms of price/performance, compared to custom built.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:35 PM   #36 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: quad6600

You might want to consider going with 64 bit to get the speed and also run windows XP to use any other programs that are not compatible. As to the RAM issue, a simple way of looking at it is that Vista 32 bit can't see 4 GB of RAM, only a little over 3GB. If you want to use alot of RAM, you will need 64 bit to utilize it. Good luck.
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:10 AM   #37 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: quad6600

Its not that crappy, i mean, i used it for aobut a month testing it for a site (got it free on a diff hd so i could dual boot) and it wasent as good but it was almost bearable.
taintedplay is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:23 AM   #38 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
You might want to consider going with 64 bit to get the speed and also run windows XP to use any other programs that are not compatible. As to the RAM issue, a simple way of looking at it is that Vista 32 bit can't see 4 GB of RAM, only a little over 3GB. If you want to use alot of RAM, you will need 64 bit to utilize it. Good luck.
doesn't that sound like an incredable hassle? Get 64 bit vista and run windows xp at the same time ( assuming u buy both ), you guys come up with the most ridiculously infeasible ideas Ive ever heard of
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:20 AM   #39 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: quad6600

pointless argument.

When windows 3.1 came out, people though dos was better
When windows 98 came out people though Windows 3.1 was better
When windows 2000 came out, thought 98 was better
When XP came out, people though 2000 was better
Now Vista comes out, you figure it out.

Just cause the games, software and hardware runs poorly on Vista doesn't mean its a bad os, its just means the OS is moving faster than the people can make compatiable software. 32-bit and 64-bit is same thing. 32-bit is compatiable with almost everything beacause its been here since windows 2000. 64-bit is just new and gonna take time to get used to. You could buy Vista 32-bit for $150 now and then a few years later buy the 64-bit version and burn another $150. Everything is like that in the computer world, dual-core was horrible, espically DDR2-RAM now look what they are now.

Of course this is how they make money, all these diffferent versions and crap. Call it a fiasco, its buisness. And apartly, you have to fall for it cuz without it, you got no operating system.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 09:46 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
pointless argument.

When windows 3.1 came out, people though dos was better
When windows 98 came out people though Windows 3.1 was better
When windows 2000 came out, thought 98 was better
When XP came out, people though 2000 was better
Now Vista comes out, you figure it out.

Just cause the games, software and hardware runs poorly on Vista doesn't mean its a bad os, its just means the OS is moving faster than the people can make compatiable software. 32-bit and 64-bit is same thing. 32-bit is compatiable with almost everything beacause its been here since windows 2000. 64-bit is just new and gonna take time to get used to. You could buy Vista 32-bit for $150 now and then a few years later buy the 64-bit version and burn another $150. Everything is like that in the computer world, dual-core was horrible, espically DDR2-RAM now look what they are now.

Of course this is how they make money, all these diffferent versions and crap. Call it a fiasco, its buisness. And apartly, you have to fall for it cuz without it, you got no operating system.
yep... eventually they'll fix it... i hope... so it doesn't cut benchmark scores and crap...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.