quad6600 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 04:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: quad6600

larger files...no wonder my vid folder kept crashing everytime i opened it
__________________

taintedplay is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 05:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: quad6600

Ok, basic observation from a newbie:

2^10 = 1 KB
2^20 = 1 MB
2^30 = 1 GB
2^32 (32-bit) = 2^30 * 2^2 = 1GB * 4 = 4GB
2^40 = 1 TB
2^50 = 1 PB
2^60 = 1 EB
2^64 (64-bit) = 2^60 * 2^4 = 1 EB * 16 = 16 EB

Yet a 32-bit OS can't read the full 4 GB?
__________________

Jewels is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 05:15 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad6600

Theres a nice article about the 2gb barrier on tomshardware. I only got a couple pages into it before my brain started to hurt, but its not that 32bit OS "can't" handle 4gb of memory, the problem stems somewhere from the adressing. Probably better for you to read it and try to figure it out than me try to describe it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 05:22 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: quad6600

Ah OK, well I think the basic explanation I found is enough I guess: When Microsoft started building NT, they split the 4GB into 2 halves; 2GB for user programs, and 2GB for everything else. Later when 2GB started to become a limit, they introduced a switch to make it 3GB for user programs and 1GB for everything else.
Jewels is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 06:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: quad6600

Windows Vista x64 is insane.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:12 PM   #26 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: quad6600

is ur sig is says windows xp
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 07:18 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
is ur sig is says windows xp
Have you tried to even read the whole thread?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl
Windows XP x64 can support much more memory; although the theoretical memory limit a 64-bit computer can address is about 16 exabytes (16 billion gigabytes), Windows XP x64 is currently limited to 128 GB (237 bytes) of physical memory and 16 TB (244 bytes) of virtual memory.
That's why I was saying it's insane because Windows Vista x64 can run up to 128GB of RAM.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:51 PM   #28 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad6600

So the important questions I need answered:

1. So theres compatability diff between 32 bit vista or 64 bit vista?

2. Is it true 64 bit Vista performs better then its 32 bit counterpart? Ive heard the exact opposite

3. When did they say SP1 is coming out for Vista?

Since 64 bit vista is only like 3-4 dollars more, ill prob just get that instead of the 32 bit one...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:53 PM   #29 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad6600

There is a compatability difference between the two, since 32-bit is the majority of what all software is written for.

64-bit should perform better, than it's 32-bit counterpart.

SP1....Sometime next year?

Just make sure you can find 64-bit drivers and updates, for all your software and hardware, before you go out and buy 64-bit.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:57 PM   #30 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
There is a compatability difference between the two, since 32-bit is the majority of what all software is written for.

64-bit should perform better, than it's 32-bit counterpart.

SP1....Sometime next year?

Just make sure you can find 64-bit drivers and updates, for all your software and hardware, before you go out and buy 64-bit.
well thats the problem, why buy a "better performing 64 bit OS" if its not compatible with the programs your trying to run. No amount of performance increase justifies not being compatable with something its 32 bit breathern is. Man all I gotta say is I really HATE microsoft and this whole crap operating system fiasco they pulled ( making vista crappy and not having dx10 for xp ). Its almost like their sadistic...
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.