quad-sli vista only... pfff - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Thumbs down quad-sli vista only... pfff


The NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GX2 supports Quad SLI under Windows Vista and Windows Vista x64 only. SLI mode is not supported under Windows XP or Windows XP x64 when pairing two Geforce 9800 GX2.


- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad-sli vista only... pfff

I think the same goes for Tri-SLI?



b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Drizzt's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: quad-sli vista only... pfff

Wow, i never knew that...

lol they could defiantly make it work for xp... this is just like that whole dx10 business.
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
Poizen22's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,277
Default Re: quad-sli vista only... pfff

no quad sli wont worck for xp at all well it will but ul only have 3 gpu's available.

intel Core I7 4770k@ 4.0ghz-Nvidia GTX980-MSI Z87G45 mobo-8gb ddr3 Corsair Vengeance Blue-ADATA SX900 128gb ssd 2x in raid 0 500gb hdd and 1tb network drive- EVGA 750w bronze-NZXT RAZER H440 LE-55 inch samsung 8000 series LEd-BENQ XL2411Z-Logitech z906 THX 5.1, Microsoft sculpt KB Razer NAGA 2014
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad-sli vista only... pfff

Tri sli works in XP. The reason quad doesnt work in XP and does in vista is because vista has a 4 frame buffer while xp only has a 3 frame buffer.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 11:23 AM
Quad Sli PSU help... BigRoc New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-22-2008 04:03 PM
quad core + sli 8800gtx in laptop????? Drizzt Laptops and Notebooks 22 02-15-2008 09:32 PM
Windows Vista SP1 Refresh 2 is Vista SP1 RTM Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-12-2008 02:59 PM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 04:31 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.