Quad Q9550 to i7? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2010, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Quad Q9550 to i7?

Hey guys,

Any day now I am going to be swapping out my GeForce GTX 260 for a GTX 470 possibly a 480. My first question is whether or not I have enough processor power for either of those cards? I am currently running a Core 2 Quad Q9550 on 8GB's of DDR2 on Windows 7 Pro on a 850 Watt Antec PSU.

My second question is I am planning within the next 6 months to do a system overhaul, switch over to DDR3, an i7 processor and get an updated SLI capable motherboard. I know that Intel has been selling the i7 for about 3 years now, and I am just wondering if anyone has heard of a new chip line coming out in the near future? I don't want to make the same mistake as I did with this Q9550, buying it, only to find out the i7 had just been released and was vastly superior.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackmoore View Post
Hey guys,

Any day now I am going to be swapping out my GeForce GTX 260 for a GTX 470 possibly a 480. My first question is whether or not I have enough processor power for either of those cards? I am currently running a Core 2 Quad Q9550 on 8GB's of DDR2 on Windows 7 Pro on a 850 Watt Antec PSU.

My second question is I am planning within the next 6 months to do a system overhaul, switch over to DDR3, an i7 processor and get an updated SLI capable motherboard. I know that Intel has been selling the i7 for about 3 years now, and I am just wondering if anyone has heard of a new chip line coming out in the near future? I don't want to make the same mistake as I did with this Q9550, buying it, only to find out the i7 had just been released and was vastly superior.
Your CPU is great. Friend has one setup with 2 x GTX 295's and as far as I am aware it doesn't bottleneck it. I think new Intel CPU's come out next year, with a new socket too, Intel are always changing their sockets and are expensive, which Is why I prefer AMD.

You'd be best with 2 X GTX 460's I think, Cheaper and they trash the 480.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

I disagree on getting 2 460. A single 480 runs every game on max settings and you have the option to get a second one later. If you buy 2 460 you'll be limiting yourself for future upgrades.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by farinha View Post
I disagree on getting 2 460. A single 480 runs every game on max settings and you have the option to get a second one later. If you buy 2 460 you'll be limiting yourself for future upgrades.
That's another way of looking at it yes, And as people say a single GPU setup is better than SLI, but the 480 Runs mighy HOT! and two of them babies = omg electric bill.... But then again I'm obsessed with Temperatures
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Most people aare only finding the cards to be warm.. So, i think 1 480 won't be bad at all.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

if you have a case with good airflow the heat that 480(s) put off is nothing to concern your self over.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 05:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Even if your cpu doesn't have enough power to push a GTX 470 or 480 to it's limits it will still see a major improvement with either card.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPROTechman View Post
Your CPU is great. Friend has one setup with 2 x GTX 295's and as far as I am aware it doesn't bottleneck it. I think new Intel CPU's come out next year, with a new socket too, Intel are always changing their sockets and are expensive, which Is why I prefer AMD.
Do you know that AMD future processors needs AM3+ motherboard ? It doesn't work with the current motherboards.
GoogleIntel is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoogleIntel View Post
Do you know that AMD future processors needs AM3+ motherboard ? It doesn't work with the current motherboards.
Yes, but how long has AM3 Been out? look at all the socket changes intel made.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-25-2010, 08:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Quad Q9550 to i7?

Usually when you get a socket change, it isn't backwards/forwards compatible, AMD is the only one for the last few years that has had any compatibility on ANY of the AM socket designs.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo? jasonhtml New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-10-2009 10:10 PM
Q9550 OEM Question Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 11 02-15-2009 09:55 AM
Q9550 vrs Q9650 Dauntae New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-23-2009 01:34 PM
AMD's 65nm Quad Core... TRUE QUAD! cwiz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-18-2007 02:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.