Quad-Fire or SLi? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2007, 12:46 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

i know Vernong

im just saying could be possible to still have 4 graphics cards and a sound card in that rig.

__________________

__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

ya i know..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:59 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

you dont sound happy mate whats up
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 01:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

shaolin whats the x-fi prelude?
is that better than the xtremegamer one?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 01:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinDreams View Post
you dont sound happy mate whats up
I'm not unhappy bro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
shaolin whats the x-fi prelude?
is that better than the xtremegamer one?
about the same.. but its usually a lot cheaper than Creative since few people know about Auzentech
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 72
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
shaolin whats the x-fi prelude?
is that better than the xtremegamer one?
Newegg.com - AuzenTech Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail
freak67 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 07:58 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaolinDreams View Post
its costs less then sli ultra's by a looong way.
Which is one of the reasons I'm going to crossfire two 3870's
And crossfired 3870's perform better on average than SLI'd 8800 GT's, and use very little power.
Quote:
it better have X-Fi intregrated sound or id be one mad bunny. But maybe as you could put a 3850 in one slot and have room for top spec soundcard.
If you crossfire a 3870 with a 3850, the 3850 is going to slow down the 3870 in two of the rendering modes. the alternate frame rendering mode should prevent that from happening though (since each card takes turns in rendering each frames independently)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 07:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
Nobody on this forum is ever going to do it anyway.....
I might.

I'll be starting off with two 3870's. But I might end up getting another two, just for the heck of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
too bad u can't run any PCI cards after u put 4 hd3870's in there..
Yeah, I currently have a PCI X-Fi XtremeMusic, and a PCI wireless card.

Although you might be able to get some coolers that will free up the PCI or PCI-E slots.

for example, the HR-03 variants. If you put one of them on the top card, with the heatsink on the top of the card, then it frees up the PCI-E 1X slot.

If creative ever bothers to make a good X-Fi in PCI-E 1X (not the crappy Xtreme Audio they have right now), you could put it in that spare slot

And for a wireless card, there is USB. And they can be modified to use an antenna that's actually descent.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:38 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
the MSI K9A2 Platinum can run four dual slot cards in crossfire
im gonna try to get this one for Christmas:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790FX-DQ6 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

i want a have 2 HD 3870 x2 when they become available. HA! 4 GPUs in dual crossfire!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:51 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
im gonna try to get this one for Christmas:

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA790FX-DQ6 AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

i want a have 2 HD 3870 x2 when they become available. HA! 4 GPUs in dual crossfire!
you can still only use two HD 3870 X2's in crossfire, for a maximum of four GPU's
and according to TheInquirer, they'll cost between $399 and $499, which is the same or a bit higher price as two 3870's cost right now

Anyway, the Gigabyte AM2+ boards aren't as good as MSI's AM2+ boards are. Even if you don't plan on running four cards in crossfire, the MSI K9A2 Platinum is just generally a better board.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I install quad in XFX nForce 680i LT SLI? jpuga New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-28-2007 03:19 PM
eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back TheEnd187 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-25-2007 09:29 PM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.