Quad-Fire or SLi? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2007, 11:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin2041 View Post
Would it be better to run 4 Radeon 3870s on a Phenom processor or run 2 nVidia 8800 Ultras on a dual core?
I don't think there are official drivers for quadfire yet, however once they come out (which I think should be soon), I would expect quadfire to outperform dual SLI.
Firstly, there's four cards instead of two And secondly, crossfire scales better than SLI does.
Though I'm not exactly sure how four cards will scale compared to two.

On top of that, two 3870's will use less power than one 8800 Ultra. So four 3870's will use less power than two 8800 Ultra's.

A single 3870 will be beaten by an 8800 GT, GTX and Ultra on average. But I think crossfire will make these cards great.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:40 AM   #12 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

i dont see how u can use 4 HD 3870s when it's dual-sloted. For quadfire, u will need to use 4 HD 3850s because of it being single slot.

im planning on getting the HD 3870 x2 n probably second one later depending on how it compares to the R700.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:02 AM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i dont see how u can use 4 HD 3870s when it's dual-sloted. For quadfire, u will need to use 4 HD 3850s because of it being single slot.

im planning on getting the HD 3870 x2 n probably second one later depending on how it compares to the R700.
you can do it.. you just won't have any other available pci slots
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

As if anyone can afford this lol
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by <[MaTT]> View Post
As if anyone can afford this lol
sure people can

about a year and a half ago

my buddy dropped 7k into his alienware computer.. that ******bag... called him an idiot for that.. he's still sitting on his 2 7800gtx's.. which i told him to sell!!!!! long ago, so he can buy an 8800gts or gtx cuz they' cream em both anyway!!!

anyway.. ya.. his computer was top notch then

amd fx57 - alienware watercooled!!!
2gb ddr400
2 512mb 7800gtx's!!

pretty much he just checked to buy the most expensive crap for everything!! and boy did he make a terrible mistake!!! seeing as the 7900's came out shortly after!!! hahaha suckced for him.... as well as dual core price drops.. he chose the worst possible time to buy
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 06:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

the MSI K9A2 Platinum can run four dual slot cards in crossfire
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

too bad u can't run any PCI cards after u put 4 hd3870's in there..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i dont see how u can use 4 HD 3870s when it's dual-sloted. For quadfire, u will need to use 4 HD 3850s because of it being single slot.

im planning on getting the HD 3870 x2 n probably second one later depending on how it compares to the R700.
if you look again at the first pic on the first page.. they are not 3850 theyre the 3870 fatboys


Quote:
Originally Posted by <[MaTT]> View Post
As if anyone can afford this lol
its costs less then sli ultra's by a looong way.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
too bad u can't run any PCI cards after u put 4 hd3870's in there..
it better have X-Fi intregrated sound or id be one mad bunny. But maybe as you could put a 3850 in one slot and have room for top spec soundcard.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:26 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

i don't plan on Quad-Crossfiring.. and I know about CF scaling better than SLi.... in fact I'm the one who keeps repeating it all around the forum.. hehe
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 12:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: Quad-Fire or SLi?

Nobody on this forum is ever going to do it anyway.....
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I install quad in XFX nForce 680i LT SLI? jpuga New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-28-2007 03:19 PM
eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back TheEnd187 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-25-2007 09:29 PM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.