Quad or Dual Cores? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 04:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Default

what's stupid about this is , dual cores practically just came out. If you "wait for x, or wait for b" youll never buy a computer.

fact is technology is growing fast.
__________________

wiouxev is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 04:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wiouxev
what's stupid about this is , dual cores practically just came out. If you "wait for x, or wait for b" youll never buy a computer.

fact is technology is growing fast.

My problem exactly.
__________________

norcal313 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I heard that intel is only going to make one quad core for a while and it will cost $1000 or more.

So if thats the case I would say only buy a quad core if you were planning to spend a grand on your cpu. If you were only planning on spending $500 then keep that budget and upgrade later if needed.

Myself I'm hopeing they make a allendale quad core for around $350 so I can get one of those and just overclock it.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lhuser
Well, if you take the theory to the point with dual/quad cores, here's how it works:

Two CPUs the same speed colllided in one is faster than the single core.

Now, take four exact same CPUs, slap 'em together and you should have four doing the job. 4 gets job done faster than 2...so quad core is faster
they dont worck like that they are 2 seperate cpus u cant have them doing the same thing unles u run it twice at teh same time i know my 4000+ is faster then my budies oced to fx 60 speeds 4200+x2 but thats only in games he was considering droping back to his 4000+ but then he sold it to me because eh designs websites and stuf fand needs the duel core and im shure if u have a good sound card and a phisx accelerator u wont need duel core for gamming as most games that have duel core ptch just have oen core worckign phisx
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd gt player
they dont worck like that they are 2 seperate cpus u cant have them doing the same thing unles u run it twice at teh same time i know my 4000+ is faster then my budies oced to fx 60 speeds 4200+x2 but thats only in games he was considering droping back to his 4000+ but then he sold it to me because eh designs websites and stuf fand needs the duel core and im shure if u have a good sound card and a phisx accelerator u wont need duel core for gamming as most games that have duel core ptch just have oen core worckign phisx

Man....I have no idea wtf you just wrote.
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd gt player
they dont worck like that they are 2 seperate cpus u cant have them doing the same thing unles u run it twice at teh same time i know my 4000+ is faster then my budies oced to fx 60 speeds 4200+x2 but thats only in games he was considering droping back to his 4000+ but then he sold it to me because eh designs websites and stuf fand needs the duel core and im shure if u have a good sound card and a phisx accelerator u wont need duel core for gamming as most games that have duel core ptch just have oen core worckign phisx

Please wait..................DONE
Punctuation check............FAILED
Spell check..................FAILED
Grammar check................FAILED
The General is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 07:56 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Hahahaha
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Amd gt player
they dont worck like that they are 2 seperate cpus u cant have them doing the same thing unles u run it twice at teh same time i know my 4000+ is faster then my budies oced to fx 60 speeds 4200+x2 but thats only in games he was considering droping back to his 4000+ but then he sold it to me because eh designs websites and stuf fand needs the duel core and im shure if u have a good sound card and a phisx accelerator u wont need duel core for gamming as most games that have duel core ptch just have oen core worckign phisx
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------




Man....I have no idea wtf you just wrote.
[Translation]

Most games don't take advantage of dual core so a faster single core could be faster.
Instead of going dual core get a phsix card.
His single core 4000+ is faster than his friends overclocked x2 4200+ in games.

[/Translation]

I disagree.
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dario03
[Translation]

Most games don't take advantage of dual core so a faster single core could be faster.
Instead of going dual core get a phsix card.
His single core 4000+ is faster than his friends overclocked x2 4200+ in games.

[/Translation]

I disagree.
u got it right

but u left out the part where he said when u combine the 2 cores of a x2 cpu they can worck together as one but 2 cores canot worck on one thread is what i meant to say so u could not have both cores worckign a game unles one is phix and the other is ai


and for everyone else stop making fun of my spelling i have an iep for it and im dislecsick or however u spell it
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

No you aren't, just slow down, it's not like you're gunna die of a heartattack if you can't make a post in 2 seconds.

That and you are wrong, its not just AI and physics that go into a game, theres a LOT more than that. And games have been using SMP since Quake 3 ...
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.