Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2008, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core?

Considering that most of the qx quads still top out around 3.8-4.0 stable, i just cant justify the extra money for them.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core?

I thought the main difference was the fact that the Q6600/Q6700 were 65nm and 1066mhz FSB and the X's are 45 nm and 1333mhz fsb.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 900RR View Post
is there anyway to unlock a q6600's multi? like jumpering something inside the chip like you had to do on the old Athlon XP palaminos...
Old Athlon XP's all had unlocked multipliers, the switch to socket 775 to athlon 64, they made locked multipliers and unlocked for the fx's.

and yes you can unlock em:


old video on a sempron 2200+. what the guy basically does is mods the CPU, takes off a little jumper that locks the multiler, this way its unlocked and he doesn't face the FSB wall of the CPU or motherboard. I wonder if you can take off the metal plate of CPU's now you would still be able to do this... hmm...
the problem with this though is that one mistake, and you lost your $200 CPU, this sempron 2200+ was around $50 at its time, so less risky experimenting on those cheap CPU's.

Also the extremes are cherry picked quads, the best CPU's will be used for em so over clocking expience will be overall better. Intel though seems to have their manufacturing process under control, so a lot of people could clock cheap $80 dual-core pentiums to high 3ghz+. Of course some people are unlucky and get a e6400 that cant clock past 2.6ghz. The new quad x9650 extreme or w/e is 45nm a nice amount of cache so you should be able to clock it slightly more than the 65nm extremes. while the 45nm extreme clocks to 4ghz and the q6600 might clock to 4ghz, its mostly luck that you get a cheap yet well performing mainstream quad.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 10:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by prvrt View Post
I thought the main difference was the fact that the Q6600/Q6700 were 65nm and 1066mhz FSB and the X's are 45 nm and 1333mhz fsb.
They are just starting to introduce the 45nm processors. Yorkies=45nm, Kentsfield=65nm. Plus the 1066 to 1333 switch is barely noticable. You'll need a nice board to OC 1333. Something that can do around 500 fsb. A reason why unlocked multi's are good. You won't have to worry about fsb wall on your MB
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 02:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
Old Athlon XP's all had unlocked multipliers, the switch to socket 775 to athlon 64, they made locked multipliers and unlocked for the fx's.
You're sadly mistaken. All palomino and t-bird's were locked up tighter than a nuns liquor cabinet on sunday. www.Viperlair.com - Unlocking and Overclocking the Athlon XP

and wtf are you talking about 775 for, that's intels current socket... el smart one
__________________

__________________
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
BFG 8800GTS
E8400
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Intel's New Glory CPU: Core 2 Extreme Edition QX6800 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-09-2007 04:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.